Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell book review

fangirl

Goodreads / Amazon UK

I’m 4% in at the point of writing this and can already tell you I love it. I understand why people love this book so.

How many people identify with Cath? Because I can tell you that I do.

I don’t think I’ve felt myself in the characters shoes before. I don’t tend to connect to characters like that. Perhaps because I don’t generally read these types of books.

But it’s not just how strongly I connect to Cath, I don’t think this book would be so good if not for the writing too. Rainbow Rowell is a beautiful writer. I’ve always been a fan of more simplistic description than overly flowery.

Yes, I would’ve rather the book focus more on how Cath deals with family, college, social anxiety rather than romance. I was disappointed by how much the 2nd half focused on that,but that’s a personal preference. Many people will enjoy it.

This is a rare read for me, but I’m glad I picked it up. It’s one of those books that, when you finish, you feel a little different.

If you don’t usually read this genre, (like me), if you prefer sci fi, post apocalyptic ect, and, also if you’re someone whose social life is online, I still recommend you read this.

Flame 4 grey

Twitter / Craft blog / Esty


Other posts

The unlikely pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce book review

Silent child by Sarah A. Denzil book review

Bunny drop vol 1 & 2 by Yumi Unita manga review

7 thoughts on “Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell book review

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury 28/02/2017 / 11:07 am

    Yesss I loved it so much too!! I connected with Cath SO SO MUCH OMG especially with avoiding people and loving to dance. Like she’s so relatable, bless her. And the writing was fantastic of course. Rainbow Rowell is definitely a master of words. 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fictional Jenn 28/02/2017 / 1:02 pm

      Aaah, we’re such awkward ducks. It’s why I’ve loved being part of the book blogging community so many people who are similar to me. I don’t feel alone or the weird one. (Or being alone as the weird one because I’m totally cool with being weird.)

      Like

  2. Nashra Usmani 16/05/2017 / 3:25 am

    I’ve heard so much about Rainbow Rowell, but never picked up one of his books. You’ve convinced me. Going into the TBR list for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

