Silent child by Sarah A. Denzil book review

33971867

Goodreads / Amazon UK

I found this book while perusing kindle unlimited. The blurb sounded interesting, so I grabbed it and gave it a read.

It doesn’t quite live up to its gripping synopsis, but it’s well written, though there’s a lack of tension. I didn’t feel worried for the characters.

And it was very obvious who had taken Aiden, (to me anyway and I always say everyone, but who it was). Along with a couple of cliches of the genre that you’ll guess if you read it.

I would’ve liked more tension and perhaps more interaction between mother, son and father. We’re too much in the mother’s mind. I didn’t really get to feel the after effects of what happened Aiden, how it affected him. However, I did like how Emma was portrayed, I found her realistic.

It did keep me up at night though, stewing over the terrible events that happened in the book.

Despite this, it was a good, quick read if you’re looking for something crime/thriller-like that isn’t too heavy writing wise. It’s available on kindle for 99p or free on unlimited and I consider it worth it.

Note: This book does have themes of child abuse. It is only mentioned and never described graphically.

Normally, this would be considered a spoiler, but I considered it worth mentioning and considering the blurb, it should be fairly obvious anyway.

Flame 4 grey

Twitter / Craft blog / Esty


The girl on the train by Paula Hawkins book review

The girl in 6E by A. R. Torre book review

One thought on “Silent child by Sarah A. Denzil book review

Leave a Reply

