Pokemon adventures volume 1, 2, 3 by Hidenori Kusake and Mato Manga review

Spoiler free!

Adventures based on the best-selling video games! All your favourite Pokémon game characters jump out of the screen into the pages of this action-packed manga!

Art: In the first 3 volumes, the art is very good and very typical of other manga’s, nothing that sets it apart or wows me, (more than great art does anyway.)

Pokemon adventures Volume 1

6432051

The pacing is super quick, Red, our main character, zooms through dramatic events at the speed of light.

Flame 3 grey

Pokemon adventures Volume 2 

19197933

The same issue as Volume 1. They move through plot arcs way too quick. There a multiple in them and, honestly, I would happy with the entire volume focusing on one or two of them so it could stretch out and have a more climatic pay off.

Flame 3 grey

Pokemon adventures Volume 3

19088067

Now this is what I’m talking ’bout! The first half has great pacing. It follows one main event happening and builds up the tension.(And then the last half goes back to its bad ways). I still would’ve liked the entire volume to focus on that, but, hey, there’s hope for improvement in the series.

Something I like to is the character development of other’s than Red, particularly Blue, (who is Gary Oak in the anime?)

Flame 3 grey

Pokemon adventures volume 4

7068985

Well. WELL. I was not expecting that. This is brilliant. Excellently paced with a great twist that runs for the entire book. It focuses on that one storyline. I LOVED it.

It ends with me desperately wanting the next volume something other 3 didn’t quite leave me feeling.

And I’m even more in love with the characters!

Flame 5 grey


The anime is much better paced, but I think I like the character development better in the manga so far. (I still love the anime though. Netflix, why you only got one season?!!)

It just seems to plop you into the story situation, and zooms through it so quick, that I’m dizzy and didn’t get a chance to sink into the story. The pacing is the biggest problem. This changes in volume 4 so hopefully this marks an improvement!

 

 

18 thoughts on “Pokemon adventures volume 1, 2, 3 by Hidenori Kusake and Mato Manga review

  1. swordsandspectres 29/01/2017 / 12:24 pm

    I did not know this Manga existex. Gonna have to give this a go at some point as I love Pokemon … still burning those calories playing Pokemon Go haha

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fictional Jenn 29/01/2017 / 1:04 pm

      All I kept getting was drowzees on pokemon go! 😂 yeah, It follows the game lore ect more closely than the anime. I’m looking forward to continuing it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • swordsandspectres 29/01/2017 / 1:06 pm

        I have a fair few. Well over a hundred. I love walking so it’s a nice thing to do at the same time.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Fictional Jenn 29/01/2017 / 1:30 pm

        Agreed. I have limited data though so can only really do it at wifi hotspots. 😢

        Like

  2. Nthato Morakabi 30/01/2017 / 10:42 am

    I read these ages after I played the games. Really enjoyed the series. Now I can’t be bothered with the rest of them haha.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Nthato Morakabi 30/01/2017 / 1:13 pm

        Exactly! So I tried my own fan fiction at one point lol, even had a fan. But alas, all things must come to an end.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Fictional Jenn 30/01/2017 / 1:33 pm

        That sounds awesome! I’d love to write a poke fanfiction. Seems like fun, relaxing thing to do.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. TheAliceFan 14/02/2017 / 2:03 am

    Yes, I love this series! Although the updates are really slow, and I had a hard time finding the physical copies, they were DELIGHTFUL! 😄

    Especially Red and Yellow! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fictional Jenn 14/02/2017 / 9:26 am

      I love Blue, but then I always like the means ones. I can get hold of them easily enough. How far in are you?

      Liked by 1 person

      • TheAliceFan 14/02/2017 / 12:01 pm

        I have read until the Diamond and Pearl chapter, finished them 😀

        At the time, the chapters were no longer updated, leaving it dangling during the HeartGold and SoulSilver chapter, so I didn’t read that one 😦 .

        Liked by 1 person

      • Fictional Jenn 14/02/2017 / 12:43 pm

        I’ve read to about vol 6 of this one and vol 1 + 2 of X.Y. I’m really sad I can’t find the anime to watch anywhere. ;-;

        Liked by 1 person

      • TheAliceFan 14/02/2017 / 12:46 pm

        I know that feeling! This series is even better than the current anime in my opinion 😦 .

        Sadly, I believe they won’t be animated, but at least we can enjoy it printed! 😄

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

