Mudman by James A. Hunter book review

Note: This is a spoiler free review!

I requested, (and received), an e-copy of this from netgalley. (My first netgalley review! Whoop! Whoop!)

29360820

Levi Adams is a soft spoken, middle-aged Mennonite man—at least he tries to be when he’s not murdering people.

Levi’s a golem, a Mudman, crafted from the muck, mire, and corpses of a World War II concentration camp—killing is just a part of his DNA. He doesn’t like it, but unfortunately he’s been saddled with a divine commission to dole out judgment on those who shed innocent blood. After seventy years as a cold-blooded murder machine, however, Levi’s trying to change his grisly nature. And the AA meetings and church services are helping. A little. But when he runs across a wounded girl, Sally Ryder, during one of his “hunting expeditions,” he realizes self-help may have to go on the back burner.

(I’ve actually left the last part of the blurb out because I feel it’s a bit spoilery.)

Initial thoughts

I really liked the premise of this book and, honestly, I sense that there may not be romance in it. I was in a very, ‘I do not want to read a book with a love interest’ mood when I picked this up.

Writing

I liked the writing. It moved with good pace and balanced action with explinations…when in Levi’s POV. There are two POVs. Levi’s and Sally’s. I wasn’t a fan of Sally’s POV. I had to grit my teeth between them, because then everything dragged. Luckily, it doesn’t happen often. 

The action scenes were brilliant, but they were just a smidge too long. If they were shortened a little I think the pace of this book would be top marks.

Plot

The plot is great. You’re immediately hooked by the mystery and it keeps feeding you little bits to keep you that way. It was incredibly enjoyable. The world is interesting too and I feel we’ve only scraped the surface. (And I need more of Levi!)

Characters

Levi is a fab character. I loved him to pieces. He was so different from the usual hero types and he’s an incredibly complex, but also simple character. (Yes, I make a lot sense.)

Sally…*Sigh* I don’t like her. I understand her character and she is a good character to a point, but she’s just meh for me. (This may be why I disliked being in her POV as well.) I feel she acted in stupid ways on certain occasions that were supposed to make her look like a badass, strong female and just had me rolling my eyes. 

Overall thoughts

Amazing, different kind of, main character with a well thought plot and world. Sally dragged the experience down for me, but many people may, and probably will, love her. 

It dragged a tiny smidge in places. The author’s hasn’t quite got a handle on the lull between action scenes, but it wasn’t a major thing. A great urban fantasy novel. Finger’s crossed there’s more!


Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read? No

Would I read this Author again? Yes

Flames: Flame 4 grey


Similar reviews

cover_rr  9251500  the-darkest-part-of-the-forest-holly-black  30114299

Twitter / Goodreads

6 thoughts on “Mudman by James A. Hunter book review

Leave a Reply

