Three bags full by Leonie Swann book review

Note: This is a spoiler free review!

779463

Initial thoughts

I was recommended this by Vicky over at booksandstrips a whiiiiiiile ago. I remember reading the blurb and being really excited about it. A sheep detective guys. SHEEP. DETECTIVE. 

This is also written by a German Author and therefore translated from German. I’m  always interested in reading books from different countries. 

Writing

Now, this is the second book I’ve read where it has been translated from its native language and I think, whoever did it, did a fantastic job. Nothing seemed to be lost in translation.

It’s written in third pov of a flock of sheep. And that’s done well. The pace is a little slow. It moves well at the start and then it sort of petered out. 

Plot

I found this to be unique and refreshing. Being in the POV of the sheep, the sheep could only understand what they understood, but on the downside of that, some of the events were lost in translation. (And I mean from sheep to human, not German to English.)

I felt really distance from the human drama, (which was the whole point of the book.) I did enjoy the sheepy antics.

I did like the ending, but the mystery itself was a let down.

Characters

It is a very character driven book. All the sheep’s had personalites and I loved each of them. I kind of wanted to know more about them, but they’re sheep. It’s hard to have complex backstories.

The human’s were looked at from a sheep’s perspective so its hard to get attached to them.

Overall thoughts

A fun, enjoyable read that I’d recommend because of its uniqueness, but the mystery is lacking. I’m disappointed that the second book hasn’t been translated into English because I would’ve read it.


Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read? No

Would I read this Author again? Yes

Flames:  Flame 4 grey


Similar reviews

download (3)  cover_rr  download (7)  30114299

Twitter / Goodreads

5 thoughts on “Three bags full by Leonie Swann book review

    • Combustible reviews 10/08/2016 / 8:44 am

      It was! Something different. I liked the sheepies. Found it weird when I started shipping some of that, but, meh, I’m a reader. Weird is my bag.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Rachel 10/08/2016 / 2:17 pm

    Sounds interesting enough. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a book with a sheep as the main character… let alone it being a detective, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

