Weekly update

Well, we’re finally back into a routine! Those couple of weeks without blogging were rough. D’:

I’ll be reading in between watching the Olympics, because I LOVE the Olympics. One of my favourite sporting events. I particularly like watching, Swimming, Athletics, Handball, Rugby and…everything else. 

How about all of you? 

I feel like their should be an Olympic inspired reading challenge/readathon. If only I’d thought about this a while ago. -_-

I’d also like to mention this post by Holly Evans. It’s basically a link to a TON of Science fiction, Dystopian, Post apocalyptic, Fantasy, Horror…all that jazz of ebooks. Depending where you live the majority are free or 99p. I believe today is the last day of the promotion so DON’T DILLY DALLY! I ‘purchased’ around 23 books off the list.

What I read last week

The red Queen by Christina Henry

30196348

This was a disappointment. I’m still sad about it. The ending was just… wah?! 3/6


Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

image

I found this a tricky one to rate because, while the plot wasn’t up to scratch, the books message really spoke to me. 5/6


What I’m reading this week

I have no idea. Usually I have a sense of what I want to read, but honestly? Until I pluck a book off my shelf I have no clue at the minute. 

I WANT to read The Cursed child, but I also want to read the series again and THEN that one. Because I’m difficult like that. I’m there’s loads of other people doing that or they were probably more organized and read the series before it came out…Goody two shoes. 

What I can tell you is I’m feeling in a very zombie mood. So maybe some post-apocalyptic fiction or Dystopian may be coming up this week. 

After all, I still have this book, waiting to be read, on my shelf:

15839976 (1).jpg


Buuuut, I also want to read this because I HEARD THERE WAS NO ROMANCE!! :O :O :O And Schwab is also on my ‘Author to try’ list.

23299512


I may end up rooting through all those free e-books I got. Who knows? Have you got some good reads planned? What are you reading now?


Twitter / Goodreads

10 thoughts on “Weekly update

  1. Holly.Evans 07/08/2016 / 10:13 am

    That’s such a shame about the Red Queen, I love Alice In Wonderland stuff! I’m not currently reading anything because so much stuff going on at once! lol However here are a few of those free books I’m really excited to dive into. Alan Baxter the temp in the job of doom, or something close to that, is top of the list. Maybe. There were so many!! lol

    Liked by 1 person

  2. MyBookJacket 07/08/2016 / 11:49 am

    Schwab should definitely be on your list. you’ll love her. Welcome back, you were sorely missed!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 07/08/2016 / 12:04 pm

      D’: I missed you too. (Even though I chattered away on twitter with you!)

      Yep, I keep hearing about Schwab so I figure this is the perfect book of hers to try.

      Liked by 1 person

      • MyBookJacket 07/08/2016 / 12:19 pm

        This or Vicious. Sigh, that one is gorgeous. haha, yes. Still, you were missed. lol

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Cait @ Paper Fury 07/08/2016 / 12:37 pm

    Omgggg the cover for The Red Queen is DIVINE AND GORGEOUS. I cannot stop staring at it AHHHHHH. And you must try This Savage Song for sure!! *hugs book* It is absolutely precious and definitely no romance. ❤
    I haven't watched ANY Olympics yet, whoops. But hopefully I won't miss the running/gymnastics because they're my favourite eeep!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 07/08/2016 / 12:50 pm

      I know both have such pretty covers. ;-; There’s been some Gymnastics on, but no athletics yet.

      I will definitely be try This Savage song!! \o/

      Like

  4. kellygriffiths 12/08/2016 / 3:04 pm

    I’m teaching a literature class on The Scarlet Pimpernel– a great classic that doesn’t read like some *yawn* classics do! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

