Red Queen by Christina Henry book review

Note: This is a spoiler free review!

This is the sequel to Alice by Christina Henry. If you haven’t read that, then check out my spoiler free review on that first!

30196348

The land outside of the Old City was supposed to be green, lush, hopeful. A place where Alice could finally rest, no longer the plaything of the Rabbit, the pawn of Cheshire, or the prey of the Jabberwocky. But the verdant fields are nothing but ash—and hope is nowhere to be found.
 
Still, Alice and Hatcher are on a mission to find his daughter, a quest they will not forsake even as it takes them deep into the clutches of the mad White Queen and her goblin or into the realm of the twisted and cruel Black King.
 
The pieces are set and the game has already begun. Each move brings Alice closer to her destiny. But, to win, she will need to harness her newfound abilities and ally herself with someone even more powerful—the mysterious and vengeful Red Queen…

Initial thoughts

I was looking forward to reading it. I wanted to find out if lots of plot threads would be dealt with. I was a little sad to leave the city setting though.

Writing

The writing is easy to understand and good quality. The description is excellent. I do feel the Author spent too much time meandering in Alice’s head. 

Plot

Hugely disappointing. When I finished this book, I had to sit for a moment and let the disappointment wash over me. There is nothing worse than a book that has potential and fail to reach it. 

Instead of tying up previous plot threads, more are introduced and then never answered. The ending was on of the most frustrating endings ever. Nothing was resolved, nothing was explained. 

I also felt that the book lost the dark tone of the first one and turned into something different entirely. 

Characters

By the end of it, I didn’t like the characters I’d already met and I didn’t feel connected to the rest. They’re very cardboard, as if they have no life before that moment and didn’t read very real.

Alice seemed numb and lost and not in a purposeful way, but as if she wasn’t sure of her motivations. 

Overall thoughts

I’m thinking these books wouldn’t be so popular if not for the Alice in wonderland attachment. It’s certainly what caught my interest. A darker Alice in wonderland has amazing potential.

There was sparks of good plot, but it needed to be worked on further and the writing is very good too, which is why I gave it 3 flames instead of 2.

You might’ve been able to read this book without the first because it was so different too.

I may end up writing a discussion post for these novels. I have a lot of thoughts I want to share in all their spoilery goodness.


Was it worth the read? No

Would I re-read? No

Would I read this Author again? Yes

Flames: Flame 3 grey


Similar reviews

Alice cover


Twitter / Goodreads

3 thoughts on “Red Queen by Christina Henry book review

  1. Drew @ TheTattooedBookGeek 03/08/2016 / 10:18 am

    I liked the book but everyone is different.

    Ah, a discussion post with spoilers or in other words a ‘rant’ post. 😂

    To say it’s a duology the ending certainly leaves it open for more books.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

