Alice by Christina Henry book review

Note: This review is spoiler free!

Alice cover

In a warren of crumbling buildings and desperate people called the Old City, there stands a hospital with cinderblock walls which echo with the screams of the poor souls inside.In the hospital, there is a woman. Her hair, once blonde, hangs in tangles down her back. She doesn’t remember why she’s in such a terrible place-just a tea party long ago, and long ears, and blood…Then, one night, a fire at the hospital gives the woman a chance to escape, tumbling out of the hole that imprisoned her, leaving her free to uncover the truth about what happened to her all those years ago.Only something else has escaped with her. Something dark. Something powerful. And to find the truth, she will have to track this beast to the very heart of the Old City, where the rabbit waits for his Alice

Initial thoughts

An Alice re-telling that’s apparently has a darker twist. I was really interested in reading this and the new covers are gorgeous. 

Writing

It has a simplistic, straightforward style which I really enjoyed. I could visualize everything really well. The mix of description and dialogue was good and it moved at a fast pace.

Plot

The plot was solid. Although, I would’ve liked more surrounding it. More inclusion of the government.

And the ending was the tiniest but anti-climatic. I thought a different ending, (which from the way it reads, I’d bet the Author consider doing), would have had more impact. I’m reserving judgment on that until I’ve read the next book.

One thing, I’m going to put a warning for right now. A strong theme is the abuse of women. 

Characters

Most of the characters are well written. Although, I’d have liked more backstory in general. We only got the barest glimpses of them and it’s all strictly related to the plot.

They aren’t many side characters. Most of it is focused on the two main characters, whom I like. And of course, the bad guys who everyone will really hate, as you should. 

Some I feel should have been used more .

Overall thoughts

While, I may have been disappointed by the ending, (as I said reserving judgement on one particular plot point), the plot is tight and wraps up the story while leaving enough to entice me for the next book which I’m looking forward to reading. 

This is not for young readers. The abuse themes in this a prevalent throughout.

Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read? Maaaaybe

Would I read this Author again? Yes

Flames: Flame 4 grey


Twitter / Goodreads

 

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Alice by Christina Henry book review

  1. Fiona 30/07/2016 / 8:05 pm

    Oooh! This is a promising review, I got this recently and want to read it (at some point, who knows when though) so this has enticed me. Thanks for the warning too – it will be helpful to know for others I talk to about it 🙂

    http://www.fionerd.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 30/07/2016 / 8:23 pm

      Yeah, it wasn’t what I expecting. I was thinking more dark fantasy, but this was a whole other ball game.

      Like

  2. Drew @ TheTattooedBookGeek 30/07/2016 / 8:42 pm

    All valid points for your review.

    Definitely isn’t dark fantasy, sequel is lighter in tone overall. Yeah, seeing more of the city and government would have been cool – Thanks for your comment on Goodreads, no city or government in the sequel at all, do see alot more character growth for Alice though.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. MyBookJacket 31/07/2016 / 6:53 am

    Hmmm I really wanted to read this before but now I’m not so sure. Sigh

    Like

    • Combustible reviews 31/07/2016 / 7:07 am

      Yes, it’s probably not for you. Alice does become a stronger character, but you would hate what happens to the women and how they’re treated generally in this.

      Liked by 1 person

      • MyBookJacket 31/07/2016 / 7:09 am

        Yep. Definitely by for me. Considering the books I’ve been reading I need a nice empowered book to give me a break.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

