Hollow city by Ransom Riggs book review

Note: This is a spoiler free review!

This is the second novel in the Miss Peregrine’s peculiar children series. If you haven’t checked out my review of the first novel, (or read it), you should do that.

23164983

This second novel begins in 1940, immediately after the first book ended. Having escaped Miss Peregrine’s island by the skin of their teeth, Jacob and his new friends must journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. Along the way, they encounter new allies, a menagerie of peculiar animals, and other unexpected surprises.

Initial thoughts

I enjoyed the first one, if disappointed, I’m not sure why. I think I was just surprised by the direction it took.

But! I was really looking forward to reading the next one. Pretty sure I moaned about wanting to in the last few weekly posts. I felt like everything was really going to to kick off in this one. 

Writing

I’m really in love with Ransom Rigg’s style of writing. It’s just so clean and well written. The description is brilliant, not too long, just little dashes as the action moves along. 

The dialogue is brilliant too. And, often with first person, I feel too constricted by the MC, but it doesn’t feel this way in this book.

Plot

The plot is solid. There are no lulls. And each arc is answered nicely. I’m enjoying the story, my disappointment of the first book’s direction long forgotten. 

And that ending! Let me tell you, I am glad I have the next book on my shelf or I would be screeching with desperation to know what happens next! I’m so invested in what’s going to happen.

Characters

First things first, I want to mention how much I love that every character is as important as the other. I’ve read a lot of books in recent times that are soooo main character centric, (The maze runner). 

Onto the actual characters. I think…I’m about to go all mushy and squee about how much I love them. The character’s just eeks into first place about being my favourite thing about this book. (The second being the writing itself.)

Every character is well rounded and reacts differently to each situation. I really enjoy each one of them. Their personal stories are so interesting. My favourite is Enoch and, after that, Hugh. 

Overall thoughts

It was thoroughly enjoying. It’s definitely earned a place on my bookshelf. I just love the solidness to it through the writing, the characters and the plot. And, whereas when reading the first book, I wasn’t sure I liked the inclusion of photographs, I actually really love them now. 

Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read? Yes

Would I read this Author again? Yes

Flames: Flame 5 grey


Similar reviews

9460487  16101128  6186357

12 thoughts on “Hollow city by Ransom Riggs book review

  1. Poppy 10/07/2016 / 7:54 pm

    I loved both the first two books in this trilogy, and I can’t wait to read the third! Great review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 10/07/2016 / 9:08 pm

      I’ve just started the third one now, can’t wait to see how it ends. Who are your favourite character’s so far?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Poppy 10/07/2016 / 9:40 pm

        Yeah, I’m looking forward to finding out what the conclusion is, too! 🙂

        Ooh, all the characters are brilliant but I think my favourite character is Enoch – his sense of humour is just fantastic!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 10/07/2016 / 9:44 pm

        You love Enoch too! Yeeees! I love his sense of humour too and just his attitude in general. :’D

        Liked by 1 person

      • Poppy 10/07/2016 / 9:47 pm

        Yeah, he’s such a great character – he always makes me laugh out loud with his perspectives on situations and general wittiness!! 🙂

        Like

  2. Nthato Morakabi 11/07/2016 / 7:38 am

    Haha I know how you feel. I think I may have jumped straight into the third book when I was done! Loved it. Third book completes the arc brilliantly and with enough suspense to keep you turning the pages!

    Liked by 1 person

      • Nthato Morakabi 11/07/2016 / 8:33 am

        Addison! I want a talking dog. Haha tough to say though. Perhaps Horace and his great sense of style? Not Enoch he’s a bit of a sadist…

        Like

Leave a Reply

