The lion, the witch, and the wardrobe by C. S. Lewis book review

Note: This review is spoiler free!

140212

 

Initial thoughts

I’m reading these in chronological order rather than publication. I liked the first one, The magician’s nephew, but didn’t think it was amazing. But, I was really looking forward to reading this one because I think most people know this story even if they hadn’t read it. I think this book was written first too? Could be wrong.

Writing

I really enjoy the style of writing. It’s simple enough, and moves fast enough, for younger readers, but vivid enough for adult readers too. I do enjoy the breaking of the fourth wall too.

Plot

We dive straight in and everything is exciting immediately. The world of Narnia is unique with lots of potential, but comfortable enough that it’s easy envision it. I thought the ending was very clever. After reading it, I felt satisfied as if the story was wrapped up well. 

Characters

 I thought all the characters were brilliant. Each of the main characters, Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy had their own personality and it was showed well without bogging down the story. 

Overall thoughts

I loved this book. I thought it was much better written than the first in the series and also had a better plot. It’s obvious why this one in the series is so well known. I can’t wait to read the rest of the series now. I think this is a brilliant book to read with young children. The pace moves quick enough that such a long book, (to a five year old), isn’t slow or ‘boring’. 

Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read? Yes

Would I read this Author again? Yes

Flames: Flame 5 grey


Similar reviews

509797  833420  Howl'sMovingCastle_B_PB

Twitter / Goodreads

11 thoughts on “The lion, the witch, and the wardrobe by C. S. Lewis book review

  1. Rachel 06/07/2016 / 11:19 am

    This was a good one. I remember having to read it for school way back when. Though I’ve never read any books from the rest of the series.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 06/07/2016 / 11:21 am

      I have a cute little box set I found in a charity shop. I can’t believe I’ve never read them before! Clearly, I had a sucky childhood.

      Like

      • Rachel 06/07/2016 / 11:28 am

        Aw, that’s nice!
        Lol, yeah, these books were pretty popular back then.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Nthato Morakabi 06/07/2016 / 11:42 am

    I haven’t read any of them either, I think I started on but then I lost interest. Oh well. Glad you enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 06/07/2016 / 11:50 am

      The first isn’t as good as this one. Probably because he wrote as a prequel when it might not have needed one. I’ll hold back opinion until I’ve finished the series!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. faithrivens 06/07/2016 / 9:21 pm

    Brilliant review as always 🙂 The Narnia series is one of my favourite from my childhood. It’s one I’m hoping to start rereading it later this year!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Zoë 11/07/2016 / 9:03 am

    I’ve been thinking of rereading this series at some stage – I loved them as a kid! Great review, and glad to see you enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

