Four books I’ve recently DNF’d and why

It’s a rare thing for me to DNF a book, not because I feel bad about not finishing it, but because, even if I’m not enjoying it, I think, what if the ending is soooo good and worth it?! And I miss out?!

So, let’s start!

Zom-B by Darren Shan

download (5)

I listened to the audio of this. (Although, I did read a few pages too because I wanted to compare as it was my first time listening to an audio book.) I got 10 chapters in and decided that I couldn’t take anymore. Here are my reasons.

 x  I really couldn’t stand the main character. Yes, I got why he acted the way he did. He’s actually a very realistic character, but, ugh, I couldn’t put up with him for one book, let alone, from what I’ve read, a very long series. He was the main reason that I went, NOPE!

x I picked this up because I love me some zombies. There was prologue, but that was it for the next 10 chapters. This book, up to that point, focused on racism. It was awful. I couldn’t deal with the character behaviours in this and, as I said, picked it up for a zombie story.

I have read that, while this book isn’t too good, (I.E. Too much setting up for the rest of the series), that the next books are good. Leaves me torn. :/


The deep by John Crowley

18215561

This is part of the SF masterworks list so I’m not 100% DNFing it, just putting it aside for a long, long…long time. I got about 40 odd pages into this 170 odd page book. And I never figured out who was who or what the heck was going on. Just thrown in to the deep end, unable to swim and no armbands.


The sandman by Lars Kepler

22336693

It’s actually is and isn’t this books fault that I DNF’d it. Crime readers who love books that build up the tension will most likely LOVE this. I, however, have learnt that I am a scaredy cat. The suspense was too much for me and it read so real, that it scared the heck out of me. So, yah, really it was my fault.


Reckoning by Kerry Wilkinson

21243216.jpg

 

I got to around 30 pages in this book and I’m pretty sure it’s over 300 pages and it managed to get me to roll my eyes so many times in so few pages. The main character was irritating as well, the love interest and the plot were obvious and cliche.

It’s YA dystopian which I like, but this seemed so much like a mash up of Divergent and The hunger games. I read the first of those book series and wasn’t particularly enthused so something that was heavily inspired by them was not something I was willing to give a try. So, those who like those books may like this.


Any books you’ve recently DNF’d? Or have you read and enjoyed any of these books?

Twitter / Goodreads


Book reviews

13611052    9251500  8621462  9460487

 

10 thoughts on “Four books I’ve recently DNF’d and why

  1. Nthato Morakabi 27/06/2016 / 12:52 pm

    I hope I didn’t pester you into doing this, I was only kidding about all the DNFs. +.+

    Like

    • Combustible reviews 27/06/2016 / 12:57 pm

      Noooo! 😀 Ha.

      I don’t like doing book reviews for books that I haven’t finished. I find that unfair so this was the next best thing.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Nthato Morakabi 27/06/2016 / 1:00 pm

        Haha fair enough. I’m glad though about the DNFs. They all sound like really good books though. I’m afraid you might not read a few of my books as they can be a bit… scary. I’ll have to read Sandman by Lars Kepler and judge according to that 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 27/06/2016 / 1:02 pm

        It’s not the scariness. It was the realness and suspense. I prefer more fantasy/sci fi horror. Creature horror? Not almost real life.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. mlrover 27/06/2016 / 1:06 pm

    IMHO, there are so many books to read, and yes we all have different tastes, but I have limited time. Your reasons for DNF are the same reaction I would have, especially racism, the vulgarity of it. Might not throw the book at the wall, but racism would actually have me consider burning it. So much good can come from books, enlightenment, entertainment, understanding. Whether or not we’re in agreement with the genre/content, your reviews save me a lot of time. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 27/06/2016 / 1:10 pm

      Awww, thanks! I’m glad I help in some part.

      Yeah, I agree. I don’t mind reading a book that looks at the issue of racism. But I picked the book up for zombie action. Not to read about a kid making gorilla noises. >:I

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Darren Shan 28/06/2016 / 8:40 am

    I know the mid-section of the first Zom-B book can be a hard slog, but the action picks up from the midway point (LOTS of zombies!) and the ending really IS surprising and shocking. If you can push through and move on to the next books, I think you might enjoy the ride… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 28/06/2016 / 9:27 am

      Thanks for taking the time and replying. 😀

      Don’t entice me by an amazing ending! My ultimate weakness. (And zombies.)

      I may just have to finish it then for the ending! I was already half-wanting to because many people said the rest of the series is brilliant.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

