Do not disturb by A. R. Torre book review

Note:  This is a spoiler free review!

18712934

1. Don’t leave the apartment.
2. Never let anyone in.
3. Don’t kill anyone.

The rules were simple and I broke them.
Now I must face the consequences.
Everyone else must face me.

Initial thoughts

I’d found the first book to be an OK read with an interesting main character. (Although, it was a let down in many ways). I was surprised there was a second book. It didn’t seem like the type to become a series, but I liked the writing enough and was intrigued and hopeful that it may shape up.

Writing

I found the book to be well written in simple, clear language. The switches between first POV and third for other characters worked well and gave a wider of view of goings on.

Plot

The Author is waaaaay too gentle with her characters. Honestly, I think the premise and the characters were pure love for the author, too much so, because it feels she won’t get really gritty with the plot because she loves them too much.

The plot is barely there. We spend three quarters of the book building up to the climax…which fizzles out as soon as it starts. I didn’t even have the energy to be annoyed. There’s no tension. At. All. It feels like the Author wanted to write this particular character, but had nowhere to go with her.

Characters

What can I say? All of them a pretty boring and cardboard-like. Deanna disappointed me the most. The idea of her is so interesting, a protagonist with dark desires to kill, but it doesn’t feel that way. I feel she wasn’t written to her full potential, that the author thought we may not like her.

Overall thoughts

The fact that the author is a good writer is the only thing that made me finish. The plot is non-existent. I think if you asked a writer who didn’t have an attachment and love for Deanna, the main character, then it would’ve have been written much more complex.

It was not worth finishing and I won’t be continuing the series, real shame because I was intrigued by a Dexter like character.

Was it worth the read? No

Would I re-read? No

Would I read this Author again? No

Flames: Flame 2 grey


I’m thinking of doing a discussion post for this book, (spoilers and all), is that something anyone would be interested in? It’s be like The fireman by Joe Hill discussion post I did recently.


Similar reviews

20640318  22557272  cover_rr

7 thoughts on “Do not disturb by A. R. Torre book review

  1. Rachel 22/06/2016 / 12:48 pm

    That’s a shame there wasn’t much of a plot. The summary sounds intriguing.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Rachel 22/06/2016 / 1:12 pm

        That’s always a sad thing to happen in a book. 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 22/06/2016 / 1:14 pm

        Yep, that’s always worst than a straight out bad book, because they were bits that interested me and I mourn what could have been. 😥

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Drew @ TheTattooedBookGeek 22/06/2016 / 1:04 pm

    Ah, another disappointing book. The Fireman discussion post was cool. 😊 I finally got around to posting my review of that rather hefty tome.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

