Weekly update

First off, Happy Father’s day to all the amazing father’s, (and father figures), out there! Keep on being awesome. 

OK, now onto the update!


What I read last week

The fireman by Joe Hill

20927079

I think I’ve mentioned before how much of a chunker this book is. I read it for #tometopple. It’s good writing, I enjoyed it, but was also disappointed by it. In fact, along with the usual spoiler free review, I wrote a discussion post. (Warning: Spoilers.) I gave the book 4/6.

Redshirts by John Scalzi

13055592

Another book that I enjoyed, but was also disappointed by. It had a Star trek humorous take, and I like Star trek and also like humorous tones too. I’d heard good things and had been excited to read it. Expectations was given a slimy fish slap by reality. 3/6

I’ve also read Do not disturb by A. R. Torre, and Life, the universe and everything by Douglas Adams. They’ll be reviewed this week on Wednesday and Saturday.

Wow, read a lot this week! (I am two away from having read 50 of my 100 goodreads goal!) Whoot! What have you read? 


What I’m reading this week

Fool moon, Lock in, and The deep are library books so they get priority. The deep and Earth abides are part of the SF Masterworks list which I’ve set a goal to read all of them. Whether I get all these read remains to be seen. I’m most looking forward to reading Lock in. 

It looks as if I’m in a apocalyptic/Dystopian reading mood. (Besides Fool moon which is urban fantasy).

Anyone else currently in a specific genre kind of reading mood?


Similar reviews

16101128  27478956  797189  cover_rr  RestaurantAtTheEndOfTheUniverse  20640318

Twitter / Goodreads

11 thoughts on “Weekly update

  1. Holly.Evans 19/06/2016 / 8:05 am

    I’m torn between sticking with urban fantasy, or dabbling with paranormal m/m romance. I read one m/m trilogy that I really enjoyed, which given I usually avoid romance, was nice. The idea of lighter fluffy reads is appealing at the moment.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 19/06/2016 / 8:37 am

      Yeah, I need a few light reads after The fireman! :’D Go with your mood, it won’t steer you wrong. What’s the names of both books?

      Like

      • Holly.Evans 19/06/2016 / 8:51 am

        The m/m I read was The Magpie Lord trilogy – I love corvids, so the fact it had magpie in the name was enough to catch my attention lol. I need to finish up the Mercy Thompson book 2, after that I might try the Weather Warden series. I’ve forgotten the name of the m/m one I was considering, I’m so bad with names lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 19/06/2016 / 9:26 am

        Haha, me too. It’s so embarrassing when I can’t remember someone’s name. :’D I love bird, particularly, Magpies, ravens, crows ect.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Holly.Evans 19/06/2016 / 9:29 am

        There’s something wonderful about them 😀 When I have all my tattoos 4 of them will be birds. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Holly.Evans 19/06/2016 / 10:44 am

        That sounds fantastic 😀 I plan on a warbird (hummingbird) behind my hear/down my neck, a parrot on my thigh, my fox avatar on my inner wrist, and a raven on the other inner wrist 😀

        Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 19/06/2016 / 8:37 am

      I think the next few weeks and I’ll try find loads of different words to describe how whale-like the book was. :’D

      Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 20/06/2016 / 9:01 am

      Haha, which ones? I know what you mean. Whenever I go and read what people’s reading, I have NEVER heard of them!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

