Weekly update

What I read last week

The girl in 6E by A. R. Torre

20640318

This was a really interesting read. I liked the idea of a dark protagonist. It ended a little disappointingly. There was a little bit of a cop out with the MC, but there’s a sequel, and I’m hoping there’s going to be a twist there.

The night circus by Erin Morgenstern

13611052

You know you’ve loved a book when you think back to reading it and it gives you warm fuzzies. It was such a beautiful book that I recommend pretty much everyone to give it a try. If you have the slightest interest, read it. I borrowed this book from the library, but I need a copy to gaze at on my shelf.


What I’m reading this week

The fireman by Joe Hill

20927079

I’m nearly 200 pages in and it looks like I’ve barely started! Look at this sucker!

20160612_183641-1

I’m enjoying it so far, but I’m unsure whether I’m going to feel like it drags, so far it hasn’t, but it has the potential to be that way. (You know how heavy this book is?!!)

I was planning to read A game of thrones next, but I’m unsure if I want to jump straight into another huge book. 

I borrowed a few book from the library so I may dive into one of them. 

I also ordered Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury, (along with the movie. I love old sci fi movies), so I may jump into that! Choices, choices. (Never mind all the unread books on my bookshelf.)


What have you read recently? Did you enjoy it?

21 thoughts on “Weekly update

  1. Drew @ TheTattooedBookGeek 12/06/2016 / 8:16 pm

    I’m upto 8,000 Kindle locations on The Fireman, haven’t found it to drag but it’s a bit slow in places and I’m not sure I’m enjoying it as much as I thought I would.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 12/06/2016 / 8:39 pm

      Yeah, I’ve not found it as…dramatic(?) as I thought I would have. I have no idea how far 8,000 kindle locations is! :’D

      Liked by 1 person

      • Rachel 12/06/2016 / 10:28 pm

        No, not that I know of. 😦

        Like

      • Combustible reviews 12/06/2016 / 10:30 pm

        Just went onto her website, there’s mention of everything. She feels like one of those authors who write a really brilliant author, but then nothing else. 😦

        Like

      • Rachel 12/06/2016 / 10:41 pm

        Aw, that sucks. Yeah I went onto her website a long time ago, but she was mainly promoting The Night Circus.

        Like

  2. sjhigbee 13/06/2016 / 11:42 am

    I’ve just completed The Passage- another door-stopper. But I was very impressed and am now reading City of Mirrors. Hope you enjoy Fool Moon – I love that series.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Zoë 13/06/2016 / 12:53 pm

    Holy crap! I had NO idea The Fireman was so huge! I love Hill’s work, and this is definitely on my list. Will clear my schedule for it xD

    Liked by 1 person

      • Zoë 13/06/2016 / 1:23 pm

        Oooh, I hope you enjoy it! I thoroughly enjoyed his other work, and I was really worried, too.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Zoë 13/06/2016 / 4:20 pm

        Being Stephen King’s son, I was not looking forward to reading a novel where the writer had no talent, but was merely riding on his dad’s coattails. Happens way too much with famous people and their kids. The worries were for nothing though, Hill is an accomplished writer and I thoroughly enjoy his work.

        Like

  4. Holly.Evans 13/06/2016 / 8:51 pm

    I’ve been reading the Mercy Thompson series as part of my quest to at least *try* and read all of the big UF series. So far it’s a nice easy read, but it’s certainly not what I expected given all the love it received. I thought the same about Dresden though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 13/06/2016 / 8:55 pm

      Yeah, as much as I plan to read Fool moon, I was let down a little by it. I’m unsure whether I like the main character.

      Hope you’re enjoying the Mercy Thompson series. Would you recommend it?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Holly.Evans 13/06/2016 / 10:05 pm

        I’ve put it on my UF recommendations list, but as a light easy read. It’s quick enough paced, the characters are likeable enough with a logical and interesting world. The plot bugged me a bit, but I’m halfway through book two at the moment. It’s not at the top of my list, but when I don’t want to think too much it works 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

