The night circus by Erin Morgenstern book review

Note: This review is spoiler free!

13611052

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called “Le Cirque des Reves,” and it is only open at night.

But behind the scenes, a fierce competition is underway–a duel between two young magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood expressly for this purpose by their mercurial instructors. Unbeknownst to them, this is a game in which only one can be left standing, and the circus is but the stage for a remarkable battle of imagination and will. Despite themselves, however, Celia and Marco tumble headfirst into love – a deep, magical love that makes the lights flicker and the room grow warm whenever they so much as brush hands.

True love or not, the game must play out, and the fates of everyone involved, from the cast of extraordinary circus per-formers to the patrons, hang in the balance, suspended as precariously as the daring acrobats overhead.

Initial thoughts

I got two reactions from people when I told them I was planning to read this book.

1. They were insanely excited and told me how much they adored the book.

2. They were horrified I hadn’t read it yet.

Safe to say, my excitement for this book increased and I was eager to get stuck in. The expectations were high.

Writing

From the first sentence I knew I was going to enjoy this book. The writing is sublime. Each word seems to be used to carefully. The pacing itself is slow, but I think this is done purposely so you can soak yourself in the words.

Plot

Nearly everyone I spoke to about this book used to word magical to describe it. I’m going to join in with the chorus, it’s magical. It’s a slow moving story, but it had me on tenterhooks from page one. 

Characters

Every character is brilliant. I got so invested in the main characters. They’re so well round. Although, I would’ve loved to know more about them and their stories a bit more. 

Overall thoughts

This book is out of my usual reading tastes and I’m glad a picked it up. I think it’s to such an excellent standard that people should give it a chance even if it’s not to your usual tastes.

I really enjoyed every aspect of this book. Maybe a bit too slow, but like I mentioned, I feel this was done on purpose. My favourite thing by far was the writing itself. Erin Morgenstern is an excellent writer and every sentence was a joy to read.

The events that play out made it impossible to put the book down and I finished it in one sitting. A book that, after you finish, makes you sit and just digest what you’ve read.

Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read? Yes

Would I read this Author again? Absolutely!

Flames:  Flame 5 grey

SIMILAR REVIEWS –

Howl'sMovingCastle_B_PB

14 thoughts on “The night circus by Erin Morgenstern book review

  1. Nthato Morakabi 08/06/2016 / 2:37 pm

    Yay! I knew you would love it. I won’t lie, I was expecting a “but the expectations were too high and I couldn’t see what the rave was about.” somewhere in your review and I am happy I was wrong! \o/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Zoë 08/06/2016 / 2:43 pm

    I am so glad to see that you enjoyed this! I read this as a recommendation. Initially I was annoyed with the book, but soon I was reeled in by the magic of it. Excellent read! Great review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      • Zoë 08/06/2016 / 3:33 pm

        The writing in the beginning was blunt and abrupt, and I wasn’t a big fan of it. Things weren’t really going anywhere or describing anything, it was very slow and a bit disjointed. Then the book sort of found its feet and just ran with the story, and I loved it! Especially all the parts about the circus – they were so vivid and descriptive. The book became magical, and found a direction. The setup irritated me a bit, but not the guts of the story.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Zoë 09/06/2016 / 6:46 am

        I agree – it added to the story 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Lily Jean's Books and Tea 09/06/2016 / 9:51 am

    I can’t wait to read this book now 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. SERIESous Book Reviews 18/06/2016 / 6:52 pm

    I tried to read this book when it came out a couple years ago but didn’t get past the 2nd chapter. I can’t really remember why. I think it was because I wasn’t in the right mindset and it wasn’t exactly what I thought I was going to read. Maybe I’ll attempt to read this later…

    Fabulous review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 18/06/2016 / 10:02 pm

      It was a really magical read. You know those one-off, unique kinds. Hope you enjoy it! Look forward to seeing what you think.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

