A local habitation by Seanan McGuire book review

Note: This is a spoiler free book review!

9780756405960

Initial thoughts

I’d read and loved the first book in the series so I was really looking forward to getting my hands on this one. There was so many plot elements hinting for future books that it left me salivating. 

Writing

The writing is simple and straight forward which I prefer. I like the description, but I don’t like it when it’s flowery and too metaphorical with lots of subtext. It’s easy to visualize what’s mentioned. 

Plot

This is where I was let down a little. The plot felt very narrow and there wasn’t much happening besides the main plot, unlike the first book which weaved little extras in brilliantly. It was very isolated too, taking place all in one place. I also felt that hints about the mysteries could have been weaved in better.

Characters

There were some potentially brilliant characters in this, but I felt I didn’t get the chance to get to know them. It didn’t go very in-depth which made me struggle to care for them. They read like one book characters. Whereas characters we know from the previous book were a bit better.

Overall thoughts

It’s not as good as the first one, but I still enjoyed it. I catch myself thinking about the regular cast and thinking up what paths they’ll take. Who I like, who I don’t like and what I want to see happen. I know that’s how I’m hooked. It was a good quick read and I can’t wait to read the next one. 

Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read? Yes

Would I read this Author again? Yes

Flames: Flame 4 grey

RELATED REVIEWS – 

Rosemary and rue book review

Storm front book review

*CLICKING ON THE BOOK IMAGE TAKES YOU TO ITS BOOK DEPOSITORY PAGE.SEE HERE FOR MORE INFO.

 

 

Leave a Reply

