Weekly update

Despite the fact that I will spend the entire Summer whinging that it’s too hot, it’s  actually really nice to sit outside and read, especially if there’s a gentle breeze.

Most of you will know I finished, (and reviewed), The last star by Rick Yancey. I plan on taking the books to a charity shop. I’m pretty sad I didn’t enjoy them. It’s the first series where I read, (the last book at least), them as they came out.

You see, back before I started this blog, I went through a major book slump, and when I say major, I’m talking maybe over a year. I did not touch a book. The desire wasn’t there. It made me feel sad, ashamed. As a child, I devoured books within a day.

That’s where this blog came in. It was a whim. I wanted to express myself and I wanted to get back into reading. I was nervous though, not blogging, but actually finishing books. It felt like climbing Mt Everest. It’s  why I originally made this blog a film and book review blog. I like films, I’ve found I don’t like reviewing them.

At the start, it was so hard to pick up books. Often, I’d only just finish the book before I’d scheduled to review it. (Thank goodness I had a schedule. It really pushed me.) It was like when you first start exercising after years again. I felt like a bad reader. I also found it hard to choose books, nothing called out to me. But as time has gone on, I’ve gotten back into the swing of things.

Now, I seem to want to reading everything. Everything looks so interesting. I’m so excited to read. It’s like my childhood again. I’ve gotten the enjoyment back. Conversing with other book lovers has helped too. So, thanks to you, ladies and gents too.

*Ahem* Now that I’ve bared my non-existent soul…

I also finished The unlikely pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce and will be reviewing it, (spoiler free as usual), on Wednesday.

I’m currently reading A local habitation by Seanan McGuire. The second in an urban fantasy series recommended to me by Holly Evans. A review for that will be up Saturday.

After that, I don’t know, maybe Earth abides by  if I can fit it in because the first #nerdypages book club read starts June 1st. The choice is The night circus by Erin Morgenstern. I’ve never read it so I’m looking forward to it.

I’m also taking part in the #readASOIAF read-along. The plan is to read 1 book per month of the first books of A song of ice and fire, starting with A game of thrones. (Obviously). It starts June 1st.

I think Camp NaNoWriMo is happening again this June. I’m not sure if I’m taking part. I may unofficially take part. It’s unlikely I’ll join a cabin though.

Edit: Camp is actually in July!

Woo, busy June for me!!

P.S. The new blog is officially live. It’s doing great and looks pretty good if I don’t say so myself. For those who don’t know Read them first is a blog that brings you upcoming releases. So if you’re an Author or know of a book that comes out from June onwards then hop over and let us know about it.

Tell me about you’ve been doing/ your plans for next month. Are you taking part in Camp NaNo? A readalong? 

RELATED POSTS –

20 facts about me tag

 

11 thoughts on “Weekly update

  1. Holly.Evans 29/05/2016 / 9:51 am

    You haven’t read The Night Circus!? O.O That’s one of the very few books that I own a physical copy of. I’m pretty sure you’ve heard me rambling about the gloriousness of that book many times. I hope you like it! So glad you’re enjoying Toby & her adventures too 😀

    June will be devoted to running around obsessing over releasing the IH books. I’m on a bit of a Seanan McGuire kick at the moment, I’ve started her Incrypid series, I need to return to Toby (I’m weird about how I read series), and I have to finish her latest standalone. I loved it, it’s gorgeous and wonderful, but there’s too much in my head for something like that right now.

    I’ve found I don’t do very well with the various NaNo’s. I’ve done a few and they just don’t work all that well for me. So nothing like that for me, just IH obsessing and driving everyone mad with that lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 29/05/2016 / 10:07 am

      I’m so excited for your book to come out! I hope you’ve had a restful break.

      Yeah, NaNo doesn’t seem to work for me, but I like the atmosphere around it so I’m having another crack at it.

      I tend to have large gaps of time before I read the next in the series aaaand then I forget everything.

      I remember looking at The night circus and then just forgetting about it. :O Everyone says it’s amazing.

      Like

      • Holly.Evans 29/05/2016 / 11:12 am

        My break’s been full of migraines and insane editing deadlines unfortunately lol. I’m creeping back to here and Twitter for my own sanity lol.

        I tend to read a couple back to back in a series, then conclude I like it too much an don’t want it to be over, so I don’t read it for ages lol.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Rachel 29/05/2016 / 1:20 pm

    I’m sure you’ll enjoy the Night Circus. It really is a great book. That book was a NaNo project, too. 🙂
    June really is going to be a busy month. I didn’t realize how quickly everything was coming up until I started planning a bit ahead. I have so much to do in June that I’m going to start today and get a real head start on it. Good luck with all of your plans!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Combustible reviews 29/05/2016 / 1:38 pm

      Thanks, and good luck with yours! \o/ Everyone says it’s brilliant so I feel like I will. Wow, that’s so cool that it was a NaNo project.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Nthato Morakabi 30/05/2016 / 7:11 am

    It’s so weird reading this and relating so much to it. I also hit a very big reading slump and stopped (also for a year, probably longer) and had no desire. Then I too decided to do book reviews for the blog to get me reading again and although it started off really slow (even my schedule didn’t help) I’ve picked up quite a bit. Now I’m always reading.

    And your blog has worked out really well and you’re reading like a machine! Stay strong! Keep reading!

    Like

    • Combustible reviews 30/05/2016 / 7:44 am

      I’m glad blogging helped you too! It also made me feel like I wasn’t ‘allowed’ to write either. What writer doesn’t read?! I think the internet, as wonderful as it is, is one the big villains.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Wenona Gardner 25/06/2016 / 4:32 am

    I am writing poetry at 10,000 words for Camp NaNoWriMo and celebrating my birthday July 11. I have a cabin called Cabin Enigma. Do you have a cabin yet? I would like to be NaNo writing buddies with you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

