The last star by Rick Yancey book review

16131489

They’re down here, they’re up there, they’re nowhere. They want the Earth, they want us to have it. They came to wipe us out, they came to save us.

But beneath these riddles lies one truth: Cassie has been betrayed. So has Ringer. Zombie. Nugget. And all 7.5 billion people who used to live on our planet. Betrayed first by the Others, and now by ourselves.

In these last days, Earth’s remaining survivors will need to decide what’s more important: saving themselves…or saving what makes us human.

1. IT

I was curious to see how this series will end, but I didn’t feel much excitement in the run up to its release. This is because the second book was such a disappointment to me. The blurb isn’t very thrilling either. In fact, it’s confusing, but maybe this is because of my impressions from the last book.

1. writing

While well written, I didn’t like the style of the writing. It’s so…flowery? Lyrical? I can’t find the right word. But there was a point where I had to look a word up because I’d never seen, let alone heard it, before.

I was constantly wondering why a simpler language, like in the first book, couldn’t have been used.

1. Plot

I’m wondering whether it needed three books to tell this story. I’m not very good at subtext, which the last two books had a lot of, so besides the basics I didn’t really feel much was going on.

The ending, if you enjoy this series, will blow you away. It’s a good, solid ending.

1. char

I’m going to admit that I don’t think I like any of the characters. Maybe this is down to the lyrical prose, (that I seem to have a major bee in my bonnet about), but they didn’t seem real and I was incredibly detached from all of them.

1. ot

I’m not sure I ever got over the sudden switch of style from book one, (which I liked), to book two and three. It’s written well, but it was difficult to finish. If you are attached to the characters and like how the second book was written, then you’ll enjoy this and the ending will be so worth it for you.

If you prefer a more simple, literal, apocalypse action story that the first book had lead me to expect then you may not enjoy it. It all comes down to taste. There was nothing wrong with this series. It’s just not suited to me. So, for me, this series was not worth reading.

Was it worth the read? No

Would I re-read? No

Would I read this Author again? Yes

Flames: Flame 2 grey

RELATED REVIEWS –

The fifth wave book review

The infinite sea book review

 

Leave a Reply

