This is not a test by Courtney Summers book review

Note: This is a spoiler free review!

12043771

It’s the end of the world. Six students have taken cover in Cortege High but shelter is little comfort when the dead outside won’t stop pounding on the doors. One bite is all it takes to kill a person and bring them back as a monstrous version of their former self. To Sloane Price, that doesn’t sound so bad. Six months ago, her world collapsed and since then, she’s failed to find a reason to keep going. Now seems like the perfect time to give up. As Sloane eagerly waits for the barricades to fall, she’s forced to witness the apocalypse through the eyes of five people who actually want to live. But as the days crawl by, the motivations for survival change in startling ways and soon the group’s fate is determined less and less by what’s happening outside and more and more by the unpredictable and violent bids for life—and death—inside. When everything is gone, what do you hold on to?

1. IT

I was recommended this book by @Kat_thebooknerd after I professed my love of zombies. After reading the blurb, I was incredibly excited to read this. Although, it took me ages to realize that was a person with their hair across their face on the book cover.

1. writing

It’s in first person, present tense, (I.E I walk over to the zombie.) I think it helps set the tone for this book. It’s written well and what I consider an easy read, meaning I could just relax into the words.

1. Plot

I’m gonna say this right now,the plot is not where it’s at. It’s a very basic plot, focusing more on characters. This is not a zombie book, rather it’s a book with zombies in it.

The plot, while good, I wanted a little more from it. The build up was the tiniest bit too slow and then the climax happened to quickly. I did like that the author didn’t pull any punches. It’s brutal in a way a lot of YA isn’t. (I don’t mean in an explicit sense.)

1. char

Now this is where the book is made good in my eyes. The plot, the zombies, were a backdrop for the characters.

It is in first person, but I became attached to every characters, even the ones you’d usually love to hate. (And I’m the kind of person who picks a side and wishes the others DIE. *Cough* I don’t have problems.)

Courtney Summers made me care about these characters. They become so real in my mind that I was worried with each page turn about what would happen to them.

1. ot

I have a few niggles from this book. I see what it was trying to do and that’s why there isn’t a massive plot arc, some people will be fine with that because of the message it brings. Personally, I wanted a bit more plot.

It was an enjoyable, quick read with some fascinating characters. I liked it enough that I’ll be checking out other works by the author.

Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read? No

Would I read this Author again? Yes

Flames: Flame 4 grey

RELATED REVIEWS –

I am legend book review

Nod book review

4 thoughts on “This is not a test by Courtney Summers book review

  1. Nthato Morakabi 25/05/2016 / 9:37 am

    Maybe not-plot is the new thing? Seems most of your reviewed books lack plot. Its the era of the human condition and it’s effects on others. *puts a pipe to his lips and blows knowingly

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 25/05/2016 / 9:51 am

      The ones I’ve read recently certainly seem that way. I think it’s just coincidence of the books I’ve read. :’D

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Rachel 25/05/2016 / 11:05 am

    Okay, I’m not a zombie-loving person, but this book sounds pretty good.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

