Miss Peregrine’s home for peculiar children by Ransom Riggs book review

Note: This is a spoiler free review!

9460487
Click me to go to the goodreads page!

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

1. IT

I discovered this book after reading a list of books being made into movies. I’m not sure if I’d paid attention to it otherwise, at least I wouldn’t have known about it as quick as I did. The blurb lured me in and I found the title and book cover very unusual. It definitely caught my interest.

1. writing

The writing is to a high standard and one of my favourite things about the book. Characters thoughts, surroundings are weaved in very well. I read it with such ease.

1. Plot

The plot, in theory, is excellent. I liked it, but…I found it a little anti-climatic in parts. We’d be introduced to something mysterious exciting, only for it to have no time to build that tension because it’d be revealed immediately. It took away from the impact of the story.

I did love that it took a different direction than I was expecting and I’m excited to follow that into the next book.

1. char

The characters, while strong and written well, disappoint me a little. I was looking forward to a vast array of interesting and complex characters. I don’t feel I got that. They all just seemed very ordinary.

1. ot

It feels like a book setting up for future books.

I think the combination of the blurb, book cover, title and a brilliant beginning, set me up too high. I was expecting something else which I did not get. Plot points were not squeezed to their maximum usage and it took too long to get to the main action.

I’d also had the impression this was going to lean more to horror, but I’d disagree and would say it’s more dark fantasy.

Still, I thought the writing was excellent and I enjoyed it enough that I’ll be reading the next one.

Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read? No

Would I read this Author again? Yes

Flames: Flame 4 grey

RELATED REVIEWS –

The darkest part of the forest book review

 

 

12 thoughts on “Miss Peregrine’s home for peculiar children by Ransom Riggs book review

  1. Jamie @ Books and Ladders 21/05/2016 / 3:58 pm

    Thanks for this review! I have this one sitting on my shelves and I haven’t decided if I am actually going to read it or not. I have read a lot of “ehhh” reviews about it so it’s not moving up my TBR any time soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 21/05/2016 / 5:14 pm

      It’s one of those books that it depends on how the next books in the series are. It isn’t a masterpiece on its own. Thanks for reading! 😀

      Like

  2. Emma The Book Lover 21/05/2016 / 5:16 pm

    Nice review, I feel almost the exact way. I’ll be reading the rest of the series and Ransoms other books for sure!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 21/05/2016 / 5:21 pm

      Woo! I’m interested in the next one and for seeing the film! Were you expecting it to go in the direction it went? The beginning didn’t set me up for the latter half of the book.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Emma The Book Lover 22/05/2016 / 12:16 am

        I didn’t expect it go the way it did but I didn’t really know what was going to happen at all! I’m also really excited for the movie it looks so good from the trailer.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Nthato Morakabi 23/05/2016 / 10:51 am

    I’ve read all three books and am so excited about the movie! I got goosebumps watching the trailer. Reviews (http://nthatomorakabi.com/tag/ransom-riggs/)

    I think that was the point about the characters, that they aren’t superheroes with amazing powers, that they are ordinary with peculiar abilities. Which, for me, made them more real and vulnerable… like kids.

    Great review still 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 23/05/2016 / 10:58 am

      I guess. I think my expectations were built up for a different direction and it threw me off. Are they all good then?!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Nthato Morakabi 23/05/2016 / 11:00 am

        They are all the same… just more action and intrigue and one shocking plot twist in the second and climatic “I did not see that coming” character in the third book. If you liked the first you’ll like the rest.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 23/05/2016 / 12:39 pm

      Yes, I want to read the rest too. I’ve heard there’s some surprises in store. :O

      Like

Leave a Reply

