Oink! My life with mini pigs by Matt Whyman book review

Note: This review is spoiler free!

10642541

The hilarious tale of how two minipigs took over one family’s life.

1. IT

If there’s one kind of non-fiction I love, it’s animal focused stories. I devour them. It’s usually a cat or a dog’s stories, so when I spotted when about mini pigs, well…I had to get it then.

It looked like a fun, enjoyable read as sometimes animal stories feature the abuse most of them suffered before coming to their owners, (most often the authors), lives.

1. writing

It was written that it felt like I was reading a story. In first person and the events ran smoothly. You can tell that writing is the Matt Whyman’s day job, (besides when he’s looking after mini pigs).There’s a light-hearted, humorous tone throughout.

1. Plot

The ‘plot’, (because I suppose real life is one drawn out plot), felt complete. I found some things a little too convenient, as if bits had been embellished for the sake of the book, but, maybe they did happen in just that way, who knows? But I’m thinking the writer took a little poetic licence on some of the tiny details.

1. char

The Whyman family is like every family out there. The father often opens his mouth before he thinks and gets in trouble with the wife and ends up looking after the pets he didn’t want in the first place. The kids are loud and whiny and I’m sure we were all like that at one stage. I know I was.

And, of course, there was Tom. Ladies and gents, if you read this, you’re going to love him.

1. ot

I enjoyed it. It was a good, entertaining read for when I wanted a break from fiction. I have also learnt that I never want mini pigs for a pet. I’d like some chickens though…but the cats would eat them. 😦

Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read? Yes

Would I read this Author again? Yes

Flames: Flame 4 grey

RELATED REVIEWS – 

A street cat named Bob book review

The world according to Bob book review

 

 

2 thoughts on “Oink! My life with mini pigs by Matt Whyman book review

Leave a Reply

