Nod by Adrian Barnes book review

Note: This review is spoiler free!

25733548

Dawn breaks over Vancouver and no one in the world has slept the night before, or almost no one. A few people, perhaps one in ten thousand, can still sleep, and they’ve all shared the same golden dream. 

After six days of absolute sleep deprivation, psychosis will set in. After four weeks, the body will die. In the interim, panic ensues and a bizarre new world arises in which those previously on the fringes of society take the lead. 

Paul, a writer, continues to sleep while his partner Tanya disintegrates before his eyes, and the new world swallows the old one whole.

1. IT

I was attracted by the pretty cover and the title first while browsing in Waterstones. After reading the blurb, I knew it was going to end up on my to read list. It sounded seriously good and the cover made me feel it was going to be different somehow.

1. writing

Overall, I liked the writing. At first, I found it a little flowery, but I came to enjoy it because this was the character’s personality shining through rather than bad writing, (it’s in first person).

1. Plot

The plot is more the background, a setting, for an introspection over human nature. I liked the plot, but it isn’t the most important thing. Personally, I would have liked more plot, but this is a me thing rather than a negative against the book. I enjoyed the journey even if parts were weird as heck!

1. char

The main character is Paul, who’s eyes we view the events from. I liked him. He was stark and looked at the world in a honest, (and scary), way. The characters around him are interesting too, but, like the plot, they’re a sounding board for a deeper look at things. I felt just as I got to know them and become invested in the story, it was over. We never get past the first date with them.

1. ot

It’s not a plot driven story. It’s not a character drive story. It’s…something else. It reminds a little of I am legend by Richard Matheson.

I enjoyed the journey, but some parts were crazy weird and had me reading on in bemusement. I’d have liked more resolution, but I don’t think that’s the story this novel is trying to tell.

It was something different and worth the read just for that.

Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read? No

Would I read this author again? Yes

Flames: Flame 3 grey

RELATED REVIEWS – 

I am legend book review

 

8 thoughts on “Nod by Adrian Barnes book review

  1. Fiona 14/05/2016 / 7:22 am

    I was sad that it wasn’t plot or character driven but it is so different. Like, I can’t 100% remember the ending but I remember the weird stuff throughout :’) I love your review set up – so focused 🙂

    http://www.northeastnerd.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 14/05/2016 / 12:36 pm

      The ending was abrupt, but sort of suitable for the kind of book it was? These kind of books always leave me unsure what to think. I enjoyed it, but I’d never fully love it because I don’t get the chance to love the characters or the plot.

      Like

  2. Nthato Morakabi 14/05/2016 / 7:41 am

    I’m starting to wonder about these novels that are not plot driven but idea driven. They always feel so incomplete. The Watchmaker of Filigree Street felt the same way for me. I don’t know if I’ll pick this book up now… hmmmm.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 14/05/2016 / 12:37 pm

      Exactly, they do feel incomplete. I mean, I enjoyed it, but I also can never love it because I can’t love the characters or plot because we don’t really get to know them.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. pinkbambi13 29/12/2016 / 10:08 am

    I so agree with your review. Especially your comment about the flowery language!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 17/01/2017 / 10:16 pm

      Sorry for the late reply! (been pretty MIA!) Some of the scenes were super weird, right? I feel like it could’ve been a great book.

      Like

      • pinkbambi13 17/01/2017 / 11:01 pm

        Absolutely! Some of the scenes reminded me of Murakami’s writings. So out there that I feel like I’m missing something….

        Like

Leave a Reply

