The time machine by H G Wells book review

Note: This is a spoiler free review!

2494

‘I had made myself the most complicated and the most hopeless trap that ever a man devised’

When a Victorian scientist propels himself in the year 802,701 AD, he is initially delighted to find that suffering has been replaced by beauty, contentment and peace. Entranced at first by the Eloi, an elfin species descended from man, he soon realizes that this beautiful people are simply remnants of a once-great culture – now weak and childishly afraid of the dark.

1. IT

I’d first watched the movie of this and enjoyed it so I was very interested in reading the book. I thought it seemed really thing when I got it though! It’s also part of SF masterworks list, which I’m working my way through.

1. writing

It’s told in first person and, in a way, where someone is relaying a story to you. Personally, I think it would have better in third person. The writing is clean and easy to understand. The description is very good and I was easily able to visualize everything.

1. Plot

The phrase, ‘Long story short’, came to mind while reading this. There is an overview of a plot here, but the book is nowhere near long enough to do it justice. This is a summary of a story. It leaves you wanting more and not in a good way. I liked what was there, I just wanted more of everything.

1. char

The characters just seem to be there for the story to be told. They don’t even have names which tells you how important they are. A shame because there was a great cast of them.

1. ot

I think the potential sums things up nicely. It had potential. It’s well written which made it easy to read, (made even easier by how disappointingly short it is.) I liked the plot, I liked the characters, but there wasn’t enough of any of this.

I debated a long while which rating to give this, (2 or 3?), because, while I liked the idea, I didn’t enjoy it because there wasn’t much of it to enjoy. In the end, I gave it a 3, because while there’s not enough, it was written so far ahead of its time and I find that so amazing.

Was it worth the read? No

Would I re-read? No

Would I read this Author again? Yes

Flames: Flame 3 grey

RELATED REVIEWS –

Do androids dream of electric sheep? book review

I am legend book reivew

7 thoughts on “The time machine by H G Wells book review

  1. jwforeva 11/05/2016 / 9:07 am

    This sounds intriguing, because this new species that’s weak and childishly afraid of the dark is an interesting concept :)) Maybe life’s gotten too comfortable. Thanks for the nice non-spoiler review, I’ll get this when I can!

    Liked by 1 person

      • jwforeva 14/05/2016 / 6:12 pm

        Ooh, by the way I just checked out your SF masterworks list, did a couple of random searches and they all sound so intriguing :)) Dune, A Female Man and Hard to Be a God captured my attention just from the title, but I’m sure they’re all fantastic. I might have to ‘steal’ some of your books from the list hehe 🙂

        I’m looking forward to more of your reviews 😊 Have a great weekend Jen!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 14/05/2016 / 6:14 pm

        Definitely steal them from my list! Let me know if you read them. A female man caught my attention too. Along with Dune as it’s pretty well known. Thank you and have a great weekend too.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Heather Stewart 12/05/2016 / 12:23 pm

    Which movie of it had you seen? The 2002 version is beautiful aesthetically and tech looks impressive, but the 1960’s version had a more interesting end for me, with the one missing book to bring forward. It had created one of my favorite book questions to ask of people. If you were going to take just one book to that culture of the future, what book would you take?
    I just love that you don’t know, it leaves a world of possibilities.

    Like

    • Combustible reviews 13/05/2016 / 8:59 am

      I think I’ve seen both, but I can’t be sure. I’ve definitely watched the 2002 version. I’ll have to watch the 1960’s one and get back to you on this question!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

