Weekly update

Finally the nice weather is here! I’ll enjoy it for five minutes and then start moaning because it’s too hot.

I’ve noticed in this kind of weather, I want to read lots of adventure like fantasy/sci fi novels. I’ll have to have a gander at my shelves.

What books does this weather make you want to read?

I’m currently reading The sandman by Lars Kepler, which is decidedly NOT adventure like.

In fact, it’s actually scaring me so much that I’m not sure if I can finish it! But I’ll try to persevere because I’m doing a buddy read of it with My book jacket.

After that, I’m not sure what I’m reading. I’m very much a, glance at my shelf and pick whatever I’m in the mood for kind of reader.

I am, (sort of), looking forward to the release of The last star by Rick Yancey. It’s the final book of a YA apocalyptic trilogy so I’m looking forward to finding out how everything ends. I’m not super excited about it because I found book two disappointing.

I’ve recently decided to put myself on a book buying ban. I’m allowing myself one new release a month so I gotta make it count!! (We’ll see how long this lasts.)

What new releases are you looking forward to this month?

I’ve also changed my review style!! I felt like the quality was deteriorating and I had no structure to my reviews. If you check them out, (there’s two in the new style), then, please, let me know what you think!

Twitter / Goodreads / Bloglovin

 

9 thoughts on “Weekly update

  1. Rachel 08/05/2016 / 1:24 pm

    The nicer weather doesn’t put me in the mood to read specific books, but it puts me in the mood to read more.
    I love sitting on my couch wrapped up in a blanket with a hot cup of coffee reading in the winter. But I love sitting outside on my deck or by my pool with an iced coffee with the sun shining down on me. There’s just something about that fresh air.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 08/05/2016 / 1:27 pm

      You have a pool?!! *Sobs* Yeah, it does make you want to slow down and just savour it.

      Like

      • Rachel 08/05/2016 / 1:28 pm

        Yes I do. It breaks almost every summer, lol. Not as luxurious as you would think. 🙂
        I wish summer could last forever!

        Like

  2. rakioddbooks 08/05/2016 / 3:35 pm

    You said gander! Yay! I used gander for the first time last week and I was so happy because I had been wanting to use it since I heard it in Pushing Daisies, which was a long time ago actually. Yay!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nthato Morakabi 09/05/2016 / 7:52 am

    I like to sit outside with a book and read and like Rachel, I wish summer would last forever haha. The cold makes me lazy 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

