The world according to Bob by James Bowen

Note: This is a spoiler free review!

18043373

‘Since Bob has appeared, I’ve made huge strides in my life. For more than a decade I was a homeless drug addict. I was lost to the world and had forgotten what was important in life. Now I’ve got myself back on my two feet, but as I put the past behind me, I’m still stepping unsteadily into the future. I still need help in the right direction. Bob is always there to offer guidance and friendship.’

This is a sequel to A street cat named Bob, (which is fab and I recommend if you like true life stories with animals involved.)

1. IT

When I discovered a sequel to A street cat named Bob, I was really excited to read it. I’d enjoyed the first one and was interesting in knowing what the duo were up to nowadays.

The title led me to believe there would be funny tidbits of what Bob ‘thought’ of certain things in life and I was looking forward to, hopefully, being made to smile.

1. writing

It’s in first person and it takes an even more fiction like approach, telling a story rather than stating the sequence of events, which I liked. It’s simply wrote and almost feels it’s wrote like the Author would speak it, making it a more personal experience, like you were sat beside him listening to him to tell you.

1. Plot

Considering this is non-fiction, there isn’t really a plot per say, but, hey, your own life is a sequence of events and what’s a fictional story if not that?

This book didn’t have the impact of the first one. It’s more a continuation of Bob and James’ life. And I did feel mislead from the title.

1. char

James and Bob are, of course, wonderful. I think all animal lovers hope to have this kind of relationship with their pets. Even if you’ve never been on drugs or homeless, James is still someone you can see yourself in and is easy empathize with.

1. ot

This is mainly for people who enjoyed the first and just want to follow them a little more on their journey. (Basically, the nosy lot of us. I.E. Like me.) It isn’t as good as the first and, at times, I did wonder the point of this second book considering it didn’t really have anything new to say.

Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read? No

Would I read this Author again? Yes

Flames: Flame 3 grey

RELATED REVIEWS – 

A street cat named Bob book review

Twitter / Goodreads / Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

