I am legend by Richard Matheson book review

Note: All my reviews are spoiler free!

6576785

Robert Neville is the last living man on Earth… but he is not alone. Every other man, woman and child on the planet has become a vampire, and they are hungry for Neville’s blood.

By day he is the hunter, stalking the undead through the ruins of civilization. By night, he barricades himself in his home and prays for the dawn.

How long can one man survive like this?

Besides being a SF masterworks novel, I was interested in this book because the film of the same name, staring Will Smith, was based on it, except in the book there was vampire. In the film zombies.

I can tell you that they are two completely different entities. The films entirely misses the message of the book, but that’s fine, I still like the film. You just have to pretend neither have a connection.

Wow, this book…I don’t even know where to start. I didn’t fall in love with it, but it impressed the heck out of me and will certainly be rememberable to me.

It certainly packs a punch and it has the most brilliant, most rememberable endings to read. It was worth reading just for that. The kind of ending where, after finishing, you close the book and just stare unseeingly for a few minutes as if a minute part of you sees the world a little differently after reading it. .

My only issue was the passage of time wasn’t conveyed to the best. It was a little, but not good enough for maximum effect of the story.

The reason I didn’t fall in love with it, is because it has a very specific story. And it isn’t a kind of book that you really get to know the characters and fall in love with them.

Plot > Characters.

There’s really only one character in the book and he’s very well written, complex and very human.

There are a few scenes that just sucker punch you right in the feels. It did indeed make me cry at one specific point. (You’ll know when you read it.) Days after finishing this, one of them would pop randomly into my thoughts and I would stop and go, WOW…

To sum up, Very plot specific, Thought provoking, Complex character

Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read? Yes

Would I read this author again? Yes

Flames: Flame 4 grey

RELATED REVIEWS –

Do androids dream of electric sheep? book review

5 thoughts on “I am legend by Richard Matheson book review

  1. TheTattooedBookGeek 30/04/2016 / 3:05 pm

    Great review, I agree that the film and book are completely different, for me the film was OK but I love the book! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 30/04/2016 / 3:06 pm

      I think if I had to choose, I far more enjoyed the book. The film, while good, is just another generic zombie film.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Prime Six 01/05/2016 / 2:48 pm

    As you said, the film and book are both very good, but entirely different. It is best to thing of them as two separate things entirely, I find myself explaining to people a lot

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 01/05/2016 / 2:59 pm

      I think I’m able to see it like that because I watched the film first. If I’d read the book first I might’ve sulked.It’s disappointing when a book you loved isn’t portrayed faithfully on screen. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

