The reader’s confession tag

I was tagged by the lovely Kat @ perks of being a book nerd. SEE, I’M DOING IT! Ye of little faith. -.-

1. Have you ever damaged a book?

Besides the odd crease from carrying a book in my bag *Sobs*, no I don’t think so. I was taught to love and respect books from birth. The thought of cracking the spine, dog earing or writing in one fills me with unbridled horror.

2. Have you ever damaged a borrowed book?

Yes, unfortunately. Not personally, by my darling dog at the time destroyed a library book. D:<

3. How long does it take you to read a book?

It depends. If I’m glued to a book then I could finish it in a day. If I’m not into it or in the mood then it could take me aaaaaages!

4. Books that you haven’t finished?

Well, I wish I hadn’t finished The maze runner trilogy. They weren’t worth reading. (That ending!! D:<)

Divergent by Veronica Roth. I got halfway through, put it down and then never picked it back up. I could see where it was going and the writing was really stiff so it never lured me back.

Twilight by Stephenie Meyer. I read the first one because it was ALL people were talking about and then refused to read the rest or watch the films. The entire thing boggles me, but I shall refrain from ranting.

The hunger games by Suzanne Collins. I read the first one and just didn’t enjoy it enough to continue.

The reckoning by Kerry Wilkinson . I got about 20 odd pages into this and just went, nope! It screamed every cliche YA dystopian trope so I just couldn’t be bothered to give it a fair try.

5. Hyped/Popular books that you don’t like?

Besides The reckoning, pretty much everything from above. In fact, I find myself suspicious of overly hyped books because of this and I have to force myself not to pre-judge them.

6. Is there a book you wouldn’t tell anyone you were reading?

No, not really. If I ended up reading erotica or something then I probably wouldn’t tell anyone because they aren’t the kind of thing I’d like to have conversations about. I’m quite prudish.

7. How many books do you own?

Hmm, without counting, I’d say between 100-150. Maybe a tad more because who knows how many ebooks I bought because they were a bargain?

8. Are you a fast reader or a slow reader?

I’m both. I used to read much quicker when younger, but I like to savour my novel nowadays. Only reason I’d read fast is if I was desperate to know what happens, (like a thriller), or if I’m forcing myself through a book and want to get it over with.

9. Do you like to buddy read?

YES! I did my first buddy read with @mybookjacket @books and strips and LOVED it! I’m always on the lookout for buddy reads and plan to do a post with the books I have that I have available for buddy reads.

10. Do you read better in your head or out loud?

I cannot stand reading out loud. I’m much better in my head and prefer it that way. I can be more absorbed in the story, but I can read out loud well.

11. If you were only allowed to own one book, what would it be and why?

This is the most evil question in the WORLD! D:<

Ummmmmm, Going postal by Terry Pratchett or Order of the pheonix by J K Rowling…or Battle royale by Koushun Takami.

I tag:

mybook jacket @ books and strips

Rachel Poli @ Rachel Poli

Nthato Morakabi @ A scribe to describe

Feel free to do the tag or not. Your choice!

RELATED POSTS –

Weekly update

 

 

24 thoughts on “The reader’s confession tag

  1. katheryn13 25/04/2016 / 3:44 pm

    Oh my god. I am horrified at the books you didn’t finish. Omg. I can’t even… I can’t even.
    Wow.
    Great post! So glad you did it. XD

    Liked by 1 person

  2. MyBookJacket 25/04/2016 / 3:56 pm

    I was just going to by the Maze Runner. You have saved me Jen. You have saved me. That was my first Buddy read as well and it was super fun!!! I can’t wait for the Tom Holt one. Thank you for the tag!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 25/04/2016 / 3:58 pm

      The last book and end of the maze runner is terrible IMO. Not worth it at all.

      Me either. Tom Holt! \o/ Maybe we should make a goodreads group so we can have a discussion section? Hmmmm. Look forward to reading yours!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 25/04/2016 / 4:05 pm

        What kind of group should we go for? Just a buddy read or what? Dm on twitter if you want to discuss it further! 😀

        Like

      • MyBookJacket 25/04/2016 / 4:10 pm

        DMing in a bit. I’ve got friends coming over to discuss a postcard/book thing. 😀 I can’t wait!!!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Holly.Evans 25/04/2016 / 4:17 pm

    I love this! I’m also mortified at the idea of writing in my books! I see pictures of people who’ve done it, and my toes curl. lol

    I’m with you on the over-hyped book thing too. I was really pleasantly surprised by V.E. Schwabs books. Same with Maggie Stiefvater, there have been so many (like Twilight and co) who I couldn’t get past page two lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 25/04/2016 / 4:19 pm

      Feel free to do the tag if you like! I will have to check out those two authors you’ve mentioned! I know, people put their names in books. WHY?! D’:

      Liked by 1 person

      • Holly.Evans 25/04/2016 / 4:25 pm

        They make notes in the margins and scribble down bits! I couldn’t do it. I’ll run away with the questions and put it up tomorrow 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 25/04/2016 / 4:27 pm

        Yay! I almost tagged you, but thought you might be busy what with your books coming out soon. (eeeek!)

        Like

      • Holly.Evans 25/04/2016 / 4:29 pm

        It’s fine there are 24 hours in the day, I’ll sleep in August, or maybe September, lol

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

