Dewey’s 24 hour readathon

Dear blog,

I did it again. No, not scarf all the cookies or trip on thin air. I mean deciding to take part in a readathon at the last minute. Not only that! But a 24 hours one. AND NOT ONLY THAT! But while I’m still taking part in the Spring into horror readathon.

What’s this readathon I speak of, you say? Well, let me tell you.

readathon1_lg

It’s called Dewey’s 24 hour readathon. You can check the website here. And there will be lots of activity on twitter. You can use #readathon to get in on the action.

One of the main things I like about it, besides the challenge, is that we’ll all be starting at the same time. Unfortunately, that’s 1 pm for me. WHY COULDN’T IT HAVE BEEN IN THE MORNING?!

I, myself, plan on doing hourly updates on twitter, which, the later it gets, will devolve into something like, I’M SO TIRED! WHY DID I DECIDE TO DO THIS?!  And, on the Sunday, I’ll post a wrap up of how it went.

I plan to attempt to stay up for the entire 24 hours and, without further ado, here’s the books I’ll most likely be choosing from. I doubt I’ll manage them all, but these are the options!

res

Now that I’m looking at this selection, I realize quite a few are movies! I don’t know which I’ll start with. I WANT TO READ THEM ALL! Probably one of the bottom three though.

So, I’m super looking forward to it!! (We shall not talk about the 250 odd pages of my current read I need to finish nor the book review I need to write nor that I have to get up super early tomorrow and I will not be able to nap.)

If anyone has any tips, considering this’ll be my first go, then, please, share them with me!!

Are you doing it?! Let me know so I can check your blog/follow you on twitter!

Twitter / Goodreads / Bloglovin

19 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24 hour readathon

  1. sarah18791 22/04/2016 / 3:35 pm

    Good luck! Plenty of sleep the night before, and staggered caffeine! You can do it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 22/04/2016 / 3:38 pm

      Thanks for the advice. Are you taking part or is that advice from movie all nighters?! :’D I don’t drink coffee so tea will have to do!

      Liked by 1 person

      • sarah18791 22/04/2016 / 3:57 pm

        Hehe I’m not taking part but I’m experienced in sleep deprivation when I’m watching NFL games! 🙂 Regular breaks as well, maybe do some reading outside if you’re starting to feel lethargic:)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 22/04/2016 / 4:02 pm

        Good idea! I may try to read while I walk the dog. :’D I used to be able to stay awake like that, but no longer so this’ll be a fun challenge.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 22/04/2016 / 4:18 pm

        Hour one of readathon: Fell asleep and did not wake up until hour 24. :’D

        Like

  2. katheryn13 22/04/2016 / 3:43 pm

    I…have never heard of any of those books. o.O I’m sure you’ll do fine, though. You’re staying up for 24hrs? I can’t do that anymore. I’m getting real old. lol. I’ll only really manage 8 hours of reading. I know…totally not the point of the challenge >_< Maybe I could try staying up…maybe. hmm.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 22/04/2016 / 3:45 pm

      Yeees, do it! I’m glad I’m not the only one who goes onto book blogs and has NEVER heard of any of the books. :’D

      I am Legend is the zombie with Will Smith. The Philip K Dick one is the book of the Blade runner movie.

      STAY UP WITH MEEEEEEE! (I’m too old and like sleep too much too, but it’s only once!)

      Like

      • katheryn13 22/04/2016 / 4:05 pm

        Oh I’ve heard of I Am Legend, though never seen it. haha maybe I willlll

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 22/04/2016 / 4:14 pm

        I’m interested to read it because in the movies it’s zombies, but in the book it’s vampires. I’m wondering how different it’ll be.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. MyBookJacket 22/04/2016 / 3:43 pm

    Yes, we shan’t talk about that review. On a different subject, I have the same Tom hold book in my TBR pile. Looking forward to hearing what you think. My TBR pile will be up tomorrow because mine starts at 5:30.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 22/04/2016 / 3:47 pm

      Awesomesauce. I like that we all start at the same time. Really?! Maybe I should save it for a #buddyread!

      *Gasp!* You talked about it. You little rebel…It’s why we’re such good friends. :’D Can’t wait to read yours.

      Liked by 1 person

      • MyBookJacket 22/04/2016 / 3:48 pm

        Hahaha. Can’t help it. Thug life and all that. Read it. Read it. You’ve already posted it. Maybe you’ll love it so much that you’d wanna read it again.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 22/04/2016 / 3:51 pm

        I probably won’t get that many read so it may end up being saved anyway. The lower three are the ones I’m most looking forward to reading.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

