The Kraken wakes by John Wyndham book review

Note: All my reviews a spoiler free!

4934914

It started with fireballs raining down from the sky and crashing into the oceans’ deeps. Then ships began sinking mysteriously and later ‘sea tanks’ emerged from the deeps to claim people . . .

For journalists Mike and Phyllis Watson, what at first appears to be a curiosity becomes a global calamity. Helpless, they watch as humanity struggles to survive now that water – one of the compounds upon which life depends – is turned against them. Finally, sea levels begin their inexorable rise . . .

The Kraken Wakes is a brilliant novel of how humankind responds to the threat of its own extinction and, ultimately, asks what we are prepared to do in order to survive.

This is an Author my Dad enjoyed in his younger days and who he recommended to me. I’d already read Day of the Triffids by John Wyndham, (which I need to read again!), so I was very curious to read this one. I mean, that synopsis, people!

You know how some books are character driven and some are plot driven? This is most definitely plot driven.

It’s written in first person and, most importantly, written well. I feel first POV is the hardest to do well.  And it’s a good thing because the sequence of events is drawn out through the book. It has a no nonsense, undramatic way of telling the story. For the most part, I liked it, but did find myself wanting it to hurry up a little.

If I had to pin down this book, I’d call it logical sci fi. It’s written in such a sensible and believable and almost non-dramatic way that it seems completely believable.

Mike is one of our two main characters and who’s viewpoint is in and there’s Phyllis, his wife.

Can I just say how much I loved Phyllis because she is brilliant! I loved Mike too and the way their relationship is. None of this has a main focus because, as I said,plot driven, but the little glimpses are enjoyable.

In the end, while I enjoyed the book, I didn’t fall in love with it. Not because it’s bad, but I think it would suit other readers better than me. I think I wanted it to be a tiny bit more character driven.

Still, it’s an excellent book that,when you finish it, you’ll be sitting quietly for minute as you think about what would happen if you were in that situation.

To sum up, well written, Plot driven, Great main characters

Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read? No

Would I read this Author again? Yes

Flames: Flame 4 grey

RELATED REVIEWS –

The fifth wave book review

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Kraken wakes by John Wyndham book review

  1. MyBookJacket 21/04/2016 / 11:43 am

    Character driven stories are so much more memorable for me. Plot driven is well and good but for some reason it works better in a movie.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 21/04/2016 / 1:24 pm

      And when plot and character is well balanced… :O But yeah, I think people seem to connect more with character than plot.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

