Spring into Horror Read-a-Thon

pring into horror r

Spring into horror Read-a-Thon runs from the 18th April – 24th April. You can use the #SpringHorrorRAT on twitter to join in on the conversation!

You can find more information here, but the one main “rule” of Spring Into Horror is that you must read ONE scary book (which can be a thriller, mystery, Gothic novel, or similar for those who are faint of heart). After that, you can read what you want.

I just heard of this today. I noticed it on a book blog I follow, (which one I’ve forgotten!! D:)

I considered not joining because it is a little last minute, but, meh, YOLO! Besides, how could I resist getting involved with something horror related?! The answer is, I couldn’t not!

So, without further ado, here’s the books I’ve chosen!

horror

kk

The Kraken wakes by John Wyndham – I  technically started this before today, but I’m only 50 pages in and SHHHHHH! OK?!

It started with fireballs raining down from the sky and crashing into the oceans’ deeps. Then ships began sinking mysteriously and later ‘sea tanks’ emerged from the deeps to claim people . . .

For journalists Mike and Phyllis Watson, what at first appears to be a curiosity becomes a global calamity. Helpless, they watch as humanity struggles to survive now that water – one of the compounds upon which life depends – is turned against them. Finally, sea levels begin their inexorable rise . . .

The Kraken Wakes is a brilliant novel of how humankind responds to the threat of its own extinction and, ultimately, asks what we are prepared to do in order to survive.

emma

Emma by Jane Austen – Love is scary, OK? (And I’m also dying to read it ASAP!)

Emma is young, rich, and independent. She has decided to never marry and instead spends her time organizing her acquaintances’ love affairs. Her plans for the matrimonial success of her new friend Harriet, however, lead her into complications that ultimately test her own detachment from the world of romance.

25858835

Maestra by L S Hilton – I got this book because I was intrigued by synopsis. I’ve since heard some negatives about it. It’s apparently raunchy too. I think it was described as being crossed with fifty shades of grey, but WORSE. I have no interest in fifty shades of grey, it’s just not my genre, so this was disappointing to hear. Still! Fingers crossed, it’ll be a good read!

Judith Rashleigh works as an assistant in a prestigious London auction house, but her dreams of breaking into the art world have been gradually dulled by the blunt forces of snobbery and corruption. To make ends meet she moonlights as a hostess in one of the West End’s less salubrious bars – although her work there pales against her activities on nights off.

When Judith stumbles across a conspiracy at her auction house, she is fired before she can expose the fraud. In desperation, she accepts an offer from one of the bar’s clients to accompany him to the French Riviera. But when an ill-advised attempt to slip him sedatives has momentous consequences, Judith finds herself fleeing for her life.

Now alone and in danger, all Judith has to rely on is her consummate ability to fake it amongst the rich and famous – and the inside track on the hugely lucrative art fraud that triggered her dismissal.

So, those are my choices. I considered choosing more, but I figured I’d be over estimating how many I could read in a week. (But never say never). Emma is quite a chunky book and I want to savour it as I read.

I’ll most likely tweet about it and then do a blog post at the end of the readathon mentioning how I did.

If you’re taking part let me know so I can check your posts out!

Twitter / Goodreads / Bloglovin

17 thoughts on “Spring into Horror Read-a-Thon

  1. MyBookJacket 19/04/2016 / 7:56 am

    This sounds absolutely terrifying. I don’t think I have any horror to actually join in. Lol. I’ll be watching to see what you think of Maestra. It sounds like a rather odd….combination.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 19/04/2016 / 8:28 am

      I know, the synopsis didn’t read like that. I’m not sure I would’ve picked it up if I’d realized. Haha, I thought of you when deciding to do this!

      Liked by 1 person

      • MyBookJacket 19/04/2016 / 3:30 pm

        YES! I’ll try and find a Stephen King in the used bookstore. Let me know when you’re done with this. 💃🏽💃🏽💃🏽do you want to start with the shining? Or Carrie? Or pick one. (Can you tell I’m excited?)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 19/04/2016 / 4:28 pm

        Pick any you like. You can find a whole load of Stephen King’s here so the choice is up to you!! I’m EXCITED TOO!

        Liked by 1 person

      • MyBookJacket 19/04/2016 / 5:24 pm

        Yay. I’ll start checking Stephen King what to start with posts. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • truebookaddict 19/04/2016 / 3:48 pm

        Not to butt in on your conversation, but I’m a huge Stephen King fan. I would go with The Shining if I were you. Carrie is good, but The Shining is better. My personal SK favorites are Bag of Bones and Duma Key. Salem’s Lot is a good choice too. It’s my mom’s favorite.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 19/04/2016 / 4:30 pm

        Butt away! (We do it all the time to everyone else!) The more the merrier in the convo. Oooh, thanks for recommendations! I’ll let @mybookjacket choose as I can find his books easy in my area.

        Like

      • Combustible reviews 19/04/2016 / 4:30 pm

        (P.S. You’re welcome to join in on the buddy read when it happens!)

        Like

  2. truebookaddict 19/04/2016 / 8:39 am

    Welcome to the read-a-thon! Glad you decided to join in. Good luck with the reading. Hope that last selection isn’t disappointing. Fifty Shades IS NOT my cup of tea either. Ugh. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 19/04/2016 / 12:31 pm

      Thanks! I’m excited to join in. 🙂

      I haven’t read fifty shades, but I’ve heard it isn’t accurate in what it portrays so I wouldn’t want to.

      Fingers crossed, it won’t be as bad as that!

      Like

Leave a Reply

