Weekly update

I don’t about everywhere else in the world, but…THE NICE WEATHER IS FINALLY HERE! (At least for now.)

Ahem, anyway, let’s talk books.

GUESS WHAT?! Go on, GUESS! Give up? OK, I’ll tell you. If you follow me on twitter then you may already know this.

I won my first ever book giveaway!! I could not believe it when I got the message on twitter! I’m so excited to read this!

DR

In other news…

I recently read Pride and prejudice, which I loved, but you can read the review here. (Spoiler free!) I am going to get that beautiful clothbound version of the novel eventually!

And so, I’m nowΒ on a Jane Austen binge and recently got Emma from the library. I also ordered the Pride and prejudice TV series and the film which also comes with Emma. It may come tomorrow! Fingers crossed!

I think I’m going to write a list of classics I want to read. (What even counts as a classic?!) So, let me know your favourite classics so I can check them out!! \o/

(I also need to re-organize my to read list because I don’t even know what’s on there. It’s getting out of hand. D:)

Speaking of the library, I also got two other books while there. I would have got a few more classics, but they didn’t have the ones that I was looking for. 😦

1. The eye of minds by James Dashner. I’m unsure about this book. I’ve read The maze runner trilogy, (did not read the sequel), and I was left disappointed by it, but, I did enjoy parts of his writing and the blurb of this book was interesting so I decided to take a chance.

2. The kraken wakes by John Wyndham. I’ve read Day of the Triffids by John Wyndham after my Dad recommended it to me and I quite liked it, (although I found it a little long), so I wanted to try another of his books. I’m already 30 odd pages in and so far so good!

I plan to read the rest of the Narnia books too. Next up will be The lion, the witch and the wardrobe which is probably the one most people are familiar with. (At least, by title.)

(Do you know how many books that are on my shelf that I want to read?! I need more eyeballs!)

Let me know what you’re reading in the comments!
Twitter / Goodreads / Bloglovin

 

 

 

17 thoughts on “Weekly update

  1. Holly.Evans 17/04/2016 / 9:22 pm

    I recommend Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde, it’s short but I loved it. I also recommend The Bell Jar, it’s also short but so beautiful and amazing.

    I’m currently reading A Gathering Of Shadows by V.E. Schwab, it’s not my usual, but it’s so good! She has a way of pulling me in and keeping me there!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 17/04/2016 / 9:25 pm

      I’ve read Dr. Jekyll and Mr Hyde. πŸ™‚ I liked it, but would have liked it to be longer.

      Oooh, will check The bell jar out and I think I’ll need to try AGOS because it’s all I’m hearing about!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Holly.Evans 17/04/2016 / 10:23 pm

        I had to read ADSOM & AGOS for the same reason! All I kept hearing was about them, and how amazing they are, and so forth. It’s not what I expected, but I’m definitely enjoying it.

        And yea I felt like Jekyll & Hyde could have been longer, but given it was written in 24 hours I suppose we can’t complain too much! lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • Holly.Evans 18/04/2016 / 11:17 am

        It’s madness isn’t it? They are stories of him being high or some such, but whatever happened, it’s pretty amazing!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. theorangutanlibrarian 17/04/2016 / 9:53 pm

    Great post and if you loved Pride and Prejudice- I strongly recommend more Austen πŸ™‚ Also Jane Eyre if you haven’t read it πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Rachel 17/04/2016 / 10:10 pm

    Congrats on winning a giveaway! I’ve entered so many on Goodreads and have yet to win one, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kirstie Ellen 18/04/2016 / 7:36 am

    I read Jekyll and Hyde recently and definitely recommend it too! It’s the same author as Treasure Island and he wrote a short story called The Bottle Imp which was really fun.

    My my favourite classic is Frankenstein. I’ve read it twice now because I just love how wonderful and horrifying it is (well, horrifying in the ‘what if someone did this’ sense, it’s not really that scary). I’ve got so many classics to still read – I have to admit P&P put me off them a bit because I really struggled to get through it. But don’t worry! I plan on rereading it and forcing myself to love it haha

    I’m currently reading The Vanishing Throne by Elizabeth May which is the 2nd book in a series (and omg it’s good), and I’m listening to The Diviners by Libba Bray πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 18/04/2016 / 9:46 am

      So many books to add to the list!! I tried Frankenstein when I was younger, but I seem to remember it starts out with a load of letters and my younger self was obviously an uncultured swine and went, “Nope!”

      Liked by 1 person

      • Kirstie Ellen 18/04/2016 / 11:33 am

        Haha yes it does start out as letters but I had such low expectations when I was reading it that I got sucked in and found myself loving it!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. driftinglexi 18/04/2016 / 6:26 pm

    If you like Greek Gods and such one classics you might enjoy is The Iliad, I love it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

