Pride and prejudice by Jane Austen book review

Note: All my reviews are spoiler free!

3084643

Pride and Prejudice is a humorous story of love and life among English gentility during the Georgian era. Mr Bennet is an English gentleman living in Hertfordshire with his overbearing wife. The Bennet’s five daughters; the beautiful Jane, the clever Elizabeth, the bookish Mary, the immature Kitty and the wild Lydia.

There’s not much dialogue, it very much has a tell don’t show policy and the main characters aren’t together at the same time as you’d want.

AND YET.. IT WORKS!!

Don’t ask me to explain how, considering all these things would be major no nos for me, but I thoroughly enjoyed it from start to finish. I suppose it isn’t considered a classic for nothing.

I had two issues, which were, the tell don’t show that happened. I would’ve liked to gone along for the ride of some of the scenes instead of being informed afterwards and how little the main characters actually spent together.

. I highly enjoyed how it encompasses all the different family dramas and other things. It’s the kind of book you read on Sunday while wrapped in a cozy blanket.

Now, considering this was publish in 1813, the style of writing and words used are a lot different, but I didn’t find it difficult to understand and even if there are things I didn’t know the meaning of, I still got the gist of what it was trying convey.

I loved the characters, I loved the plot and I just loved it in general, OK?! Now I’m going to binge watch every movie and every TV show made on this book while reading more Jane Austen books.

To sum up, little to much tell and not enough show, Great plot, Great characters

Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read? Yes

Would I read this Author again? Yes

Flames: Flame 6

RELATED REVIEWS –

Pride and prejudice and zombies book review

6 thoughts on “Pride and prejudice by Jane Austen book review

  1. transhaan 17/04/2016 / 3:17 am

    HHH I LOVE THIS BOOK SOO MUCHH ❤ I HTINK IM GOING TO RE-READ IT AHAH THIS SUMMER ❤ FEELS LIKE THE PERFECT SEASON TO GET ON SOME JANE AUSTEN ROMANCE 😀 Loved the characters too!! Darcy and Elizabeth 😀 – Trang

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 17/04/2016 / 7:27 am

      YES! EXACTLY. Perfect book to read in the sunshine. I’ve borrowed Emma from the library and plan to read that soon too! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • transhaan 18/04/2016 / 8:23 am

        EMMA IS SO FUN TO READD. Cant wait to read your review !! 🙌

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 18/04/2016 / 9:47 am

        I can’t wait to read the book. I’m currently reading something and I keep eyeing the Emma book. Must hurry up so I can devour it! >:D

        Like

Leave a Reply

