The Magician’s Nephew by C S Lewis book review

Note: All my reviews are spoiler free!

509797

Digory let out a scream. “What’s happened to Polly?”
“Congratulate me, my dear boy,” said Uncle Andrew, rubbing his hands.
“My experiment has succeeded. The little girl’s gone – vanished – right out of this world.”

When Digory and Polly discover Uncle Andrew’s secret workshop, they are tricked into touching the magic rings which transport them to the Other Place. By even Uncle Andrew doesn’t realize the wonders that await them, for here is the gateway to the Land of Narnia and the beginning of many wonderful adventures there…

I’d say most people, or at least book lovers, have heard of Narnia. I knew of The lion, the witch and the wardrobe film, but had never picked up the books until recently.

This is the first book in the series of fantasy books aimed at younger readers. It’s written well and, at 171 pages, I’d say manageable for younger readers too.

The pace is quick and the writing is simple. The story doesn’t quite satisfy me, but that’s most likely because I’m older.

I feel this is the kind of book that is only worth reading as part of the series. It can’t be read by itself and leave it at that. It was like just getting the beginning of a story. In fact, it says what I mean in the synopsis. It is a gateway to Narnia.

I liked the characters and I liked the setting, but I didn’t get enough of them. There’s potential there and I’m excited to see where it goes.

It’s definitely an interesting start to the series, but it’s difficult to make a judgement on this book on its own. I feel as if it can only be really rate after reading the series as a whole.

However, I do think this is a great book for younger people. I can see children being delighted by the quick tale and being one of those books you remember fondly from your childhood.

To sum up, well written, fast paced, good for younger readers

Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read? Yes

Would I read this Author again? Yes

Flames: Flame 4 grey


Similar reviews

140212  Howl'sMovingCastle_B_PB

 

4 thoughts on “The Magician’s Nephew by C S Lewis book review

  1. MyBookJacket 14/04/2016 / 4:27 am

    Glad you liked it. I spotted this in a used book store but thought I’d wait for your review. Will pick it up the next time I go.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 14/04/2016 / 7:14 am

      Woo! I’m looking forward to the rest of the series. I was torn between reading them in publication or chronological order. :’D

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

