A Street Cat Named Bob by James Bowen book review

Note: All my reviews are spoiler free!

12394068

The moving, uplifting true story of an unlikely friendship between a man on the streets and the ginger cat who adopts him and helps him heal his life.

I’d heard of Bob the street cat, but it was only recently that I got round to reading it. (I’m on a real animal book kick at the moment.)

While I like reading about inspirational animals, I’m always a little weary because I cannot handle reading about animal abuse or them being in pain. I’ll bawl like a baby. I’ve stopped reading books and watching films because of this.

Fortunately, this book doesn’t focus much on the negative’s, but, rather on Bob and James Bowen’s story as they save each other and form an amazing bond.

But it’s not only about a man and cat, it gives you a view of the homeless and how they live and feel, what they have to go through.

It’s written in first person and is very easy to read, like a story rather than just a list of facts. I finished this book within a couple of days and this was with breaks as I did other stuff.

To sum up, Well written, thought provoking

Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read? Yes

Would I read this Author again? Yes

Flames: Flame 4 grey

11 thoughts on “A Street Cat Named Bob by James Bowen book review

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury 10/04/2016 / 12:14 pm

    A book about a homeless cat?! Okay, I totally have NEVER read anything like that before!! XD Was it narrated by the cat then? Omg, animal abuse is so so hard to read about. I almost always cringe when I read of an animal in an average fiction book because THE AUTHOR ALWAYS HURTS THEM AND IT’S SO HARD. *cries*
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 10/04/2016 / 12:21 pm

      It’s written from the owners point of view. How they met and change each others lives. He doesn’t know the cats past history so, thankfully, you don’t read much abuse.

      Like

  2. brontespageturners 11/04/2016 / 12:33 am

    Agree it’s a great book! I think I bumped into James and his cat when I was working in Soho a few years ago. Unless there’s another dude walking around with his cat! Bronte

    Liked by 1 person

  3. MyBookJacket 11/04/2016 / 4:41 am

    Oh god. This is so adorable! I’ve got to agree with you on the animal abuse but. It’s horrible. I’ve bookmarked the doesthedogdie website just to make sure I don’t watch anything close to it.
    This sounds so cute. I don’t think I’ve ever seen this anywhere before. But I might just read it because of the sheer number of street animals we have.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. transhaan 15/04/2016 / 6:08 am

    What a curious idea! Nice review. I haven’t read any books with animals being in the focus, but I’m about to dive into one soon enough. It’s called Lily and the Octopus. Have you heard of it? It’s coming out soon, maybe it’ll interest you! 😛

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 15/04/2016 / 7:08 am

      Ooooooooooooh! Just looked it up. It looks so good, but also like it’s going to make me cry. Look up Marley and Me, you might like that.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. linjiang@wonder 25/08/2016 / 6:06 pm

    I just finished reading it too! It is also overwhelming to see that Bob brings human interaction between James and other people. “Homeless people are like invisible in London”.
    I also wrote a blog about his book, but more on my own life experience when I was down and almost hopeless. You can check it here. http://www.linjiang-online.com/?p=553

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 25/08/2016 / 6:08 pm

      Animals always make it easier to interact with people imo. Did you know there’s going to be a flim?

      I’ll check out your link. I hope things are on the up for you now. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

