I shall wear midnight by Terry Pratchett book review

Note: All my reviews are spoiler free!

7576115

It starts with whispers.

Then someone picks up a stone.

Finally, the fires begin.

When people turn on witches, the innocents suffer. . .

Tiffany Aching has spent years studying with senior witches, and now she is on her own. As the witch of the Chalk, she performs the bits of witchcraft that aren’t sparkly, aren’t fun, don’t involve any kind of wand, and that people seldom ever hear about: She does the unglamorous work of caring for the needy.

But someone or something is igniting fear, inculcating dark thoughts and angry murmurs against witches. Aided by her tiny blue allies, the Wee Free Men, Tiffany must find the source of this unrest and defeat the evil at its root before it takes her life. Because if Tiffany falls, the whole Chalk falls with her.

This is the fourth book in the Tiffany Aching series and, by now, I’ve noticed that each of these books are tinged with melancholy. Or maybe it’s because I’m such an emotion butterfly…nah.

I’ve loved each and everyone of these books even without having finish the fifth and final (*Sobs*) book I can say this series is definitely worth reading.

Brilliant characters that you’ll come to know more and more with each book. They’re so incredibly real. One day, I’ll read these books to the small humans in my family.

I think they teach you much about people while giving you an amazing story to get completely invested in. (Like me, who has been reduced to blubbering by each book without fail.)

Tiffany is, as always, brilliant to read and follow, along with the array of characters. Who can not love the Feegles? (Probably publicans.)

This has to be my second favourite, (after The Wee free men which is the first in the series), it’s plot is powerful and really makes you think about the world and people and beliefs.

You can find reviews of the previous Tiffany Aching books at the bottom!

To sum up, Can’t too busy fangirling over it.

Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read? Yes

Would I read the Author again? Yes

Flames: Flame 6

RELATED REVIEWS –

The wee free men book review

A hat full of sky book review

Wintersmith book review

6 thoughts on “I shall wear midnight by Terry Pratchett book review

    • Combustible reviews 07/04/2016 / 7:26 am

      I hadn’t read the Tiffany Aching books until this year, but obviously when The Shepherd’s crown came out, I want to get reading them. They’re not as humorous as the other Discworld novels, but it fits them.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. MyBookJacket 09/04/2016 / 5:55 am

    You’re totally on a Pratchett spree aren’t you! It’s making me green with envy!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 09/04/2016 / 7:07 am

      Yep! :’D I’m halfway through The Shepherd’s crown too. I’ll be reviewing a different book today though.

      Liked by 1 person

      • MyBookJacket 09/04/2016 / 7:32 am

        Ooo. I’ll keep an eye out for that. I’m trying to find used copies in bookstores here because new ones are a BOMB. Starting with going postal.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

