The desert island book tag

I’m doing this tag instead of the usual weekly update, (because I’m boring and have nothing to share and I reeeaaally want to do this.)

I was tagged by fellow book blogger Darling Lauren @ Darling bear. Thanks so much for tagging me!

1. Water: A book you simply cannot live without.

This is such an unbelievably cruel question! I imagine a lot of people have chose Harry Potter (and I get why), but I am going to choose…*Twenty minutes later* Going postal by Terry Pratchett.

Discworld_Postal.jpg

I knew I was going to choose a Discworld novel, but choosing a specific one was SO HARD! This book was my first introduction to Terry Prachett’s novels so I have a soft spot for this particular one and no other books have come close to love I have for Terry Pratchett’s novels.

2. Food: A book that is a close second on your favourites list

I’m going to avoid choosing from the same Author, (see above). I’m actually really surprised myself by my choice. Battle royale by Koushun Takami.

download (10)

This is translated from Japanese. I did a buddy read this year of this with My book jacket @ Books and strips and I loved it so, so much! (Vicky did not love it as much as me, but that’s OK, I love it enough for the both of us.)

3. Shelter: A book that makes you feel at home and safe

This was a hard one considering the kind of books that I read. They’re not the kind to make you feel safe.  After staring at my bookshelf for five minutes, I decided on Howl’s moving castle by Diana Wynne Jones.

download (11)

This is such a sweet, simple, relaxing read. It reads like a Studio Ghibli film (which it actually is. (P.S. If you don’t know Studio Ghibli films know that I have a horrified look on my face.)

4. Flare gun: A book that you would recommend to a person that doesn’t read

But there’s so many different kinds of people! How can I choose without knowing who it is?! *Sigh* For the sake of not being difficult, I’m going to go with The spook’s apprentice by Joseph Delaney.

TheSpooksApprentice-JosephDelaney

I think I’m more in love with the simplistic writing style than the actual story, (which is amazing by the way.) It’s written in first person my least liked POV to read andt his book would make it into my top ten favourite books, (not being allowed multiple of the same Author). That’s how brilliant I think it is. (P.S. The film is an insult to book lovers everywhere. Nay! To life itself.)

5. Fire-matches: A book that warms your heart

I knew immediately which book to choose for this one. I read these book series as they came out and it felt like I was sat beside  everyone else reading them. One of the first times that reading didn’t feel like a lonely venture. (This was before I had discovered the wonders of the internet.) It’s Harry Potter and the philosopher’s stone by J K Rowling.

potter1

(Yeah, calm down. Of course it made the list.)

6. Compass: Book that directed you towards your love for reading

I can’t remember ever not loving books and reading. This is due to my Dad. He taught me to treat books like the sacred objects they are as if they were Gollum’s ring. My Precioussssssssssss. He took me to the library whenever I wanted, bought whatever books I wanted. Now that I’ve enthralled you all with my childhood, my book choice is The witches by Roald Dahl.

download (12)

I loved this book when I was young and read it over and over. My love of darker stories started young. >:D

Tagging:

My book jacket @ Books and strips

Rachel Poli @ Rachel Poli

Jasmine Carlisle @ Jasmine Carlisle blog

Nthato Morakabi @ A scribe to describe

Feel free to do the tag if you like, but don’t feel you have to! Leave a link in the comments if you do so I can see it! \o/

 

 

 

 

24 thoughts on “The desert island book tag

      • rattlethestarssite 03/04/2016 / 7:58 pm

        The Spook’s Apprentice, Battle Royal and Howl’s Moving Castle. I just looked them up on Goodreads 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 03/04/2016 / 8:00 pm

        I recommend them all. \o/ (Obviously) There’s reviews of them on my blog if you’re interested in knowing a bit more about them. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. transhaan 03/04/2016 / 10:03 pm

    Battle Royale ! 😀 I loved the movie and I intend to buy the book soon enough LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 03/04/2016 / 11:40 pm

      Yes! The book is soo good. First 32 pages are a bit difficult, so many names to remember, but after that it’s 10/10.

      Like

  2. Rachel 04/04/2016 / 12:01 am

    This looks like a lot of fun! I’ll have to give it a go.
    I had to read The Witches in school when I was young. It scared the crap out of me. We watched the movie in school too, which made my fear of the book even worse. I had nightmares about it and everything.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 04/04/2016 / 1:25 pm

      Haha, I know how you feel. Why do they make children films scary? I’m still terrified of Watership down!

      Like

      • Combustible reviews 04/04/2016 / 7:29 pm

        It’s based on a book, (which I’ve never read), about rabbits.

        Like

      • Combustible reviews 04/04/2016 / 11:59 pm

        You should watch it. I’m sure you’ll see why it terrified me as a child.

        Like

      • Rachel 05/04/2016 / 12:06 am

        I don’t know… I still get freaked out easily! Lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 05/04/2016 / 6:58 am

        It probably wouldn’t freak you out, just like the witches didn’t me, but it’s just that film that scared me when I was younger and it stuck.

        BESIDES! You have to watch it now.

        Like

      • Rachel 05/04/2016 / 10:42 am

        I looked it up and I saw some images from it. I can see what you mean.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Kirstie Ellen 04/04/2016 / 12:01 am

    Great answers 🙂 I’ve wanted to pick up The Spook’s Apprentice – I keep seeing it floating around and my brother has read it and now I’m wanting to read it even more!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

