Weekly update

Wherein I talk about blog changes and Camp NaNoWriMo.

Hello! \o/ As you can see from I’m finally back after a long absence. Mainly due to illness, but afterwards it was just hard to get back into because my routine was all thrown off.

BUT…I’M BACK!! \o/

And I have a specific thing to share. Over the past few weeks, (and before that if I’m honest), I’d thought often about what kind of blog I wanted this to be, what kind I would most enjoy running.

I started this blog on a whim. I thought about the things I liked and wanted to write about and then created the blog. That is as far as my planning went.

And it worked out for me. I’ve enjoyed this immensely. I like having my own corner of the internet and I’ve met an incredible amount of wonderful people.

So, as for the changes. For those who follow me you’ll know that I post spoiler free book and film reviews.

I’ve noticed that my enjoyment of posting film reviews isn’t as much for book reviews. I enjoy going onto other film blogs and commenting on their posts, but actually writing my own? Not so much.

So, this blog is probably going to morph more into a bookish blog rather than both books and films. I won’t be scrapping films completely, but they’ll be more as and when I feel like it, rather than to a set schedule.

I also decided not to renew my unlimited cineworld card. (It allows me to go and watch as many movies at the cinema as I want for a set monthly price.) This means the amount of new releases is going to drop.

Because of this major change, I’ll be working out a new schedule. The only things that won’t be changing is the book reviews on Wednesday and Saturday. They are definitely staying the same, but I’ll be taking time to work out what content I want to share on the other days. I still very much want to blog everyday.

NOW! ONTO OTHER NEWS! \o/

I’m pretty sure I mentioned this before, but I’ll be taking part in Camp NaNoWriMo! I imagine a lot of you will know what this, but for those who don’t, read this. (Because I’m too lazy to explain it myself.)

IT IS FIVE DAYS AWAY AND I HAVE NOT PLANNED AT ALL BECAUSE OF THAT STUPID ILLNESS I CAME DOWN WITH. *Heavy breathing*

Otherwise, I’m pretty excited.

And, to be fair, I can’t actually blame it on the illness. I do this every NaNoWriMo. I get all impatient to start and then when it does I realize that I have not done enough planning.

I do have my idea. I was torn between two, a humorous fantasy idea and a apocalyptic one.
I know that I haven’t enough time to plan the fantasy one and would be setting myself up to fail so I ended up going for the apocalyptic because I love me some zombies!

I’ll give you a basic, (and very rough), synopsis.

Working title: 13 hours

Blunt teeth sank into the soft flesh of her forearm and that was it. She could practically feel her blood burning as the infection invaded her body. She knew in a few hours she would definitely feel it. And a few hours after that she’d feel nothing but hunger.

But it’s not the end, not yet. She can still get the medicine her sister needs. She has 13 hours to get it. 13 hours before she turns into a mindless, flesh hungry monster…

Can she make it?

So that’s what I’m working with. I haven’t even named any characters yet. D: This is literally all I’ve got. o.o

…It’ll be fine. *Laughs nervously*

I’m also part of a Cabin made up of a great bunch of people. A lot of us are bloggers, but I know a few aren’t. Different timezones, genres, wordcount goals and age groups. We currently have two bunk beds left so if you’re looking for a cabin feel free to leave a comment.

Also, I’d love to hear from other who are doing camp. What are you writing? Have you planned or are you pantsing? Are you typing, handwriting or even using a typewriter?

19 thoughts on “Weekly update

  1. hyperpandemonium 27/03/2016 / 1:29 pm

    Hi.
    I am not entering into the camp this time around but I wish you the best of luck. I love the premise and will look forward to any updates you publish!
    I can’t wait to read the finished material!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 27/03/2016 / 2:21 pm

      Ha, thanks! I’ll do my best! Good luck with your own writing goals regardless! 😀

      Like

  2. newguy87 27/03/2016 / 1:32 pm

    Good luck on the camp, also i would like to see you compare books to films/tv shows, i personally don’t have the patience to read books so i have only been able to complain about one being bad (Angels and Demons), but i guess that would be spoiler filled, PS i changed a round on Opinion Battles while you were away hope you got the email.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 27/03/2016 / 2:22 pm

      I’ll check my email straight away.

      And thanks. I may do book to movie comparisons. I just might do more shorter mini film reviews rather than the in depth ones now.

      You weren’t a fan of Angels and Demons by Dan Brown? My Dad loves that, but I don’t think I’d like it personally. Sounds very information heavy.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Nthato Morakabi 27/03/2016 / 1:37 pm

    Goodluck with Camp! I’m planning I find I get to finish my stories if I planh aha. Also I will be writing a I don’t know what genre it would be. Supernatural religious horror? Something like that…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Rachel 28/03/2016 / 10:45 am

    Your novel idea sounds great! I can’t wait for Camp to start. I didn’t finish my outline yet, but I think I’m ready. 🙂
    Also, I’m glad you’re making changes on your blog. You have to do whatever you’re more into. 🙂

    Like

  5. Rayna 28/03/2016 / 10:46 pm

    I’m not a super fan of zombies, but I hope that your characters and inspiration come to you and you can meet your goal! I’m mostly pantsing this because I didn’t plan anything other than what I wrote in my synopsis – which just kinda came out of me so even I have no idea what to expect. I’ll be typing my story because ain’t nobody got time to handwrite all that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 29/03/2016 / 8:55 am

      I’ll probably end up pantsing too. :’D I like handwriting, but, like you said, it takes so long compared to typing. I find I’m last likely to stew over words if handwriting though.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

