Rosemary and Rue by Seanan McGuire book review

Note: All my reviews are spoiler free!

cover_rr

I want to apologize in advance for the amount of fangirling that’s about to happen…even though I’m not the least bit sorry, but, hey, it’s the thought that counts, right?

I was recommended this book by Holly Evans @ Chaos fox writing. Urban fantasy was not a genre I’d ever explored and so I had no idea what books to try. Thankfully, Holly didn’t steer my wrong.

I loved this book. This is pretty much all I have to say. Yep…*Awkward silence*.

*Cough* Anyway, this is the first book in the Daye series. October ‘Toby’ Daye is our protagonist and I LOVE her. She is so bad ass. She’s such a well rounded character. Yes, she kicks ass, but she also has her flaws which is great. I cannot begin to tell you how much I enjoyed following Toby through her adventures.

All of the characters were brilliant. They have their own personalities and angendas. None are there just for the sake of being there.

And the world. I loved it. (The word love(d) is probably going to show up a lot in this review.) It has a specific set of rules and not once did the Author break the rules because it would have been easier for the story or character or whatever reason.

It’s hard to stick to the rules of the fantasy world you’ve created. I’ve read books where Author breaks their own rules and it always ruined it for me.

The mystery of this book wasn’t hard to figure out, but it was enjoyable to know which direction it was going in and being satisfied that I was right.

The best thing this book does though, is to introduce plot strands that are obviously going to be explored in the future books. I am chomping at the bit to read the next one. I will devour that book as soon as I get my hands on it.

This is just one of those books that I’ve fallen in love with. It’s such an ‘easy read’ too. I finished it within a day. If you’re looking to explore urban fantasy and want to do it with a kick ass female then read this.

To sum up, Brilliant characters, Brilliant world, Brilliant writing

Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read? Yes

Would I read this Author again? Yes

Flames: Flame 5 grey


Similar reviews

the-darkest-part-of-the-forest-holly-black9780756405960

4 thoughts on “Rosemary and Rue by Seanan McGuire book review

  1. Holly.Evans 26/03/2016 / 5:44 pm

    I’m so glad you loved this!! I’m on a reading break but I can’t wait to continue with this series. If you want another that’s (IMO) on equal grounds, try The Final Formula by Becca Andre, that’s my other top recommendation 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nthato Morakabi 27/03/2016 / 5:49 am

    It’s easy to tell when a Reviewer is in love with a book. This is how I felt about Endgame haha. I don’t think I’ve actually even read anything that was Urban Fantasy… or maybe I have and it didn’t register. Either way, many books to read of which this may be one of.

    Like

Leave a Reply

