Hail, Caesar! film review

Note: All my reviews are spoiler free!

11434453_ori.jpg

UK release date: 4/3/16

Runtime: 106 minutes

Directed by: Joel Coen, Ethan Coen

Starring: Josh Brolin, George Clooney, Alden Ehrenreich, Ralph Fiennes, Jonah Hill, Scarlett Johansson, Frances McDormand, Tilda Swinton, Channing Tatum

My thoughts summed up for this film: OK…what was the point of all this? What the heck was it about?

I’m not sure how to articulate my thoughts and feelings over this film. It was fascinating enough because it was different, but nothing happened.

A load of plot elements/conflicts are introduced and then resolved immediately or even off screen, giving a quick mention that it’s happened.

I think it was trying to be funny with the quickness of it, but failed. It just left me a little peeved.

I liked all the characters. I liked each of their individual story lines, but like everything in this film, not one thing happened. There was no point to them. It’s a major shame because all the actors gave such sold performances. There were bits that were great fun to watch, but had no follow through.

Maybe I’m missing the point. I’m aware it’s about Brolin’s character and him having to deal with the actors and showing old Hollywood, but…I don’t just give me something more!

It’s well made, if a little slow paced, and a strong cast of character who, unfortunately do not get enough love.

I really liked how it was a movie within a movie kind of thing. I enjoyed each different movie, but that’s it. I don’t think this is a film the average film goer will enjoy.

To sum up, It’s different, but that’s not enough, no plot, characters not given enough time

Was it worth the watch? No

Would I re-watch? No

Flames: Flame 3 grey

5 thoughts on “Hail, Caesar! film review

  1. Zoë 08/03/2016 / 5:38 am

    This movie sounds like it universally disappointed viewers!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Film Music Central 08/03/2016 / 3:07 pm

    I totally agree, I went in thinking it was going to be this hilarious romp and…nope! I can’t remember the last time i saw a movie so disjointed.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

