A fairy-tale ending by Jack Heckel book review

Note: All my reviews are spoiler free!

fairy-tale-ending-225

Prince Charming had one destiny: to slay the dragon and save the princess. Both have been achieved, except there’s a problem: Charming had nothing to do with either. A farmer named Will Pickett succeeded where royalty had failed—and this simply will not stand.

Thus begins an epic adventure that has Prince Charming and Will Pickett vying with each other for the throne by challenging trolls, outwitting scoundrels, and facing all manner of fairy-tale creatures. All the while a dark sorcery envelops Castle White, and Will’s sister

Liz and her friend Lady Rapunzel uncover a threat to the kingdom. The fate of Royaume hangs in the balance as Charming tries to salvage his reputation, and the clock is ticking

Note: The Author(s) emailed me and offered me the chance to read and review this book. Have you seen that blurb? Of course, I said YES!

This sequel to this book, which is called The pitchfork of destiny, is out on the 5th of April. I’ll also be reading reviewing this, can’t wait! (No, really.)

I really, really enjoyed this book and only had a few issues with it which I’ll mention in the course of the review.

The writing is very clean and understandable. A fact made more amazing by that it’s the combined efforts of two Authors. I’d think writing a book, and making both styles meld together seamlessly, would be really tricky.

I really liked how the Author(s) managed to weave in description without slowing down the action. I really liked the style of writing. I enjoyed the humour mixed in. It has an almost Terry Pratchett feel about it.

I enjoyed having the different viewpoints, although on rare occasions, there’s some head hopping which at times ruined the reading experience for me.

I would have liked this book to be much longer and complex which is both a compliment and not. It was too short and the pace with which certain things happened was too quick and I wanted it to be longer because I enjoyed it!

Out of the characters, my absolute favourite was Prince Charming. I thought he was hilarious and I liked how he was more than the cliche he’d been purposely made to. His character arc was one of the most interesting. The second being The Princess. Her actions during the story were understandable and really intriguing.

I wasn’t a fan of Liz, the king and, particularly, Will. I didn’t hate them , but, for varying reasons, I didn’t love them.

Let’s start with Liz. I loved her when this first started and was very excited to follow her through her adventure. I was looking forward to lots of sassiness, stubbornness and cutting remarks. Unfortunately, she slipped to the side and didn’t do much during the book. I still liked her, b this was so disappointing.

The King and Will. I didn’t find the characters actions and characters arcs believable. The rapidness that Will’s character changes is disorientating. As for the King, I don’t understand anything he chose to do at all.

Another thing I enjoyed was how many fairy tale characters were worked into the story each given a new twist.

The ending was the most disappointing for me. Yes, it resolved things well, but I found it a little too fairytale cliche. I also found certain parts of the book a bit too…mushy. This part is a personal opinion. Other people will enjoy this.

I did like the epilogue very much. I would really like to see something come of that. I feel it has more to offer. (Oooh, mysterious, yes?!)

This book is what I call an ‘easy read’ meaning I relaxed and enjoyed it and read it very quickly, almost in one sitting. For those who like humour and fairy tales then you’ll enjoy this.

To sum up, a bit too quick, great characters, clean writing

Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read? Yes

Would I read this Author again? Yes

Flames: Flame 4 grey

4 thoughts on “A fairy-tale ending by Jack Heckel book review

  1. The Quidnunc 05/03/2016 / 9:32 pm

    I will definitely be on the look for this one, because I am a massive Terry Pratchett fan! I loved you review! 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nthato Morakabi 07/03/2016 / 9:47 am

    I was definitely thinking Shrek when I read this but it also is a different story though in a sense using similar characters? Looks like something I would pick up for those “Easy Read” days.

    Great review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

