One flew over the cuckoo’s nest film review

Note: All my reviews are spoiler free!

One_Flew_Over_the_Cuckoo's_Nest_poster

UK release date: 5/3/76

Runtime: 133 minutes

Directed by: Miloš Forman

Starring: Jack Nicholson, Louise Fletcher, Will Sampson, Sydney Lassick, Brad Dourif, Christopher Lloyd, Danny DeVito

This is based on a book which I kind of wished I’ve read because if it’s as good as the film, (and they’re often better), then it would have been a gripping read.

The film gets off to a strong start and I’m immediately hooked. I think Jack Nicholson’s great. Although, I’ve mostly watch films when he’s older so this film was great fun for me.
McMurphy is a criminal and it was pretty shocking to hear some of his crimes. I have to wonder whether they’d have used certain ones if they’d made the film now.

Jack Nicholson’s speechless reactions to things that happen around him at the start are hilarious! But not only is he great, the rest of the cast is too. There’s so many strong characters and they manage to share the screen perfectly.

Nurse Ratched has the ultimate b**ch face.

It’s halfway through the film that it gets REALLY interesting and continues to stay gripping and tension filled until the end. And, wow, what an ending! This is a brilliant film with an amazing cast of characters.

To sum up, great characters, amazing ending, well paced

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? Yes

Flames: Flame 4 grey

RELATED REVIEWS –

Birdman film review

12 thoughts on “One flew over the cuckoo’s nest film review

  1. MyBookJacket 05/03/2016 / 3:07 am

    I haven’t gotten around to watching some of these classics. It’s actually pretty embarrassing. Glad out liked this though. You haven’t mentioned negatives so I think I’ll grab this DVD when I’m out. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. newguy87 05/03/2016 / 8:51 pm

    I gave this a much higher rating on my first watch this year but i couldn’t understand the hate for Nurse Ratched when it is McMurphy that is the bad guy in this film to me, yeah he is nice to the other patients but only for his own benefits and never really should have been there. on completely random note Chucky is brilliant in this too

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 06/03/2016 / 8:49 am

      At first, I thought Nurse Ratched would help McMurphy to better himself, (but this is not that kind of film), but I do consider her a bad person. She doesn’t help the patients. It’s all about power and her own sense of right. The scene with Billy near the end cemented this idea for me.

      I think at first McMurphy didn’t care about them, but by the end I think he did.

      Liked by 1 person

      • newguy87 06/03/2016 / 4:20 pm

        I found that how McMurphy tried to help them only made them worse, you look at Billy who was made confident but Ratched tore it down, now in real life something similar can easily happy and Billy being incapable of dealing with these highs and lows was the reason he was there. most of the patients were there because they chose to be and at the time no one was brave enough to handle mental issues.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 06/03/2016 / 4:42 pm

        True, but Ratched was supposed to be there to help them not to tear him down. And she was aware of his suicidal tendencies.

        But I assume this was set in the time it was filmed and it was a lot different back then. Thankfully things have gotten better.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. mlrover 06/03/2016 / 10:59 am

    The first time I heard of this novel was when it was banned in the 70’s. It’s original setting was in Oregon, but I thought it was modeled after the infamous Camarillo State Hospital in CA. The way patients were treated at Camarillo was worse than depicted in this film/play/novel. I heard it directly from the patients.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 06/03/2016 / 11:23 am

      Yeah, I’ve read/watched documentaries about mental health care back in and it’s terrifying to learn.

      Like

  4. Nthato Morakabi 07/03/2016 / 9:19 am

    Ha, I’ve heard much about this but never got around to watching it or reading the book, I will have to look it up!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Zoë 07/03/2016 / 9:58 am

    Great review! Definitely a good film, and Nicholson is amazing in this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

