The Sage, the Swordsman and the Scholars by Pierre Dimaculangan book review

Note: All my reviews are spoiler free!

27206951

When enigmatic nonhuman visitors arrive from the sea, the very foundations of the Middle Kingdom are under attack. The evil agenda of these invaders sparks a massive war that will determine the fate of the Ming dynasty and the nations beyond.

A legendary swordsman allies himself with a banished Shaolin monk, a defeated bandit chieftain, a carefree Mongolian merchant, and an unknown philosopher who knows the only hope for victory.

Together, this band of misfits strives to be proven worthy of the impossible task before them, even finding themselves at the Emperor’s doorstep. Determined to combat the invaders’ initial offensives, they must also help the Ming Army repel countless internal enemies who have rallied to bring down the mighty Ming dynasty.

Note: The Author, (who’s really nice!), emailed me and offered me the opportunity to read his book which I gladly excepted because historical fantasy set in China? Yes please!

The Sage, the swordsman and the scholars is the first book and has a fascinating plot with strong worldbuilding that, with another draft and edit, would be a great novel. It has a lot of potential.

There’s some really interesting characters and the cliffhanger ending caught my interest!
I also think the use of adverbs was excessive and the writing was strong enough not to need them.

The Author has a really detailed world with a great array of characters, history and customs.

The Author is great with description and really brings the world to life. Personally, I prefer my books to be a faster paced and more action orientated and to learn what’s happening through the character experiences it.

Those who like a slower, more description heavy book may enjoy this.

I’m interested to see where this series are heading. (I hope the next one has a shorter name because I kept forgetting the name of this one! Copy and paste was indeed my friend.)

P.S. I really like the cover!!

To sum up, Diamond in the rough, Really detailed, Interesting plot, unique setting

Was it worth the read? With another drafting and edit, it would be.

Would I re-read? No

Would I read this Author again? Yes

Flames: Flame 3 grey

 

10 thoughts on “The Sage, the Swordsman and the Scholars by Pierre Dimaculangan book review

  1. The Quidnunc 02/03/2016 / 3:44 pm

    I am also a fan of historical fantasy! I loved your review. l will be on the look forbthis one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 02/03/2016 / 3:48 pm

      It’s definitely a diamond in the rough, but has an interesting premise. Thanks for reading and commenting! \o/

      Liked by 1 person

  2. MyBookJacket 02/03/2016 / 3:47 pm

    Ah. The cover is definitely great. Caught my interesting immediately. Hopefully the author will be able to find a good editor and take your pouts into account.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ella 03/03/2016 / 8:34 pm

    Historical fantasy is my favourite thing because it combines two of my favourite genres! Glad you enjoyed this one for the most of it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

