The finest hours film review

Note: All my reviews are spoiler free!

images (8)UK release date: 19/2/16

Runtime: 117 minutes

Directed by: Craig Gillespie

Starring: Chris Pine, Casey Affleck, Ben Foster, Holliday Grainger, John Ortiz, Eric Bana

I feel like this film slipped under the radar a little. Or I’ve just not seen much about it over social media.

It’s based on a true story, but I get the sense it’s flowered up. And what I mean by that is they’ve made events a little more dramatic than they may have been for the sake of an entertaining movie.After watching it, I read up about it. I didn’t find out much, but it does follow the true story.

Now, to focus on the film. I think it’s a little long, but this may be because it was missing a little tension. Despite the high tension kind of film it is, there was never any moments that had my heart tightening and me glued to the screen.

It’s well made and enjoyable to watch, but I can’t recall any memorable emotional scenes not like in The heart of the sea, (A film telling of a story of shipwrecked whalers. Review is at the bottom.)

Chris Pine, despite quite firmly being Captain Kirk in my mind, he proves how versatile he is in this, playing a soft spoken and shy young man.

There are a few plot elements that aren’t given much love and they just skim the surface.The entire film felt this way. I didn’t really get to know any of the characters which was a shame because they seemed really strong and could have had a compelling story.

To sum up, decent film, great acting, lacking tension, nothing rememberable

Was it worth the watch? Yes

Would I re-watch? Yes

Flames: Flame 4 grey

RELATED REVIEWS –

In the heart of the sea film review

3 thoughts on “The finest hours film review

  1. MyBookJacket 01/03/2016 / 5:52 am

    It definitely slipped under the radar. I hadn’t even heard of it!!! I’m curious though. Maybe I’ll check out if it’s anywhere here! Love the new look Jen.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

