Weekly update

Usually I post these weekly updates much earlier, but I held off for a very specific reason which I’ll speak about at the end. (Hah! Now you have to stick around!) First, what I’m reading and watching this week.

But! Before that I’d like to inform you that I now have an Instagram account. It’s all @mybookjacket’s fault. There is absolutely nothing on it yet. I’m not quite sure how I’m going to use it really, considering I already have twitter and Goodreads.

For now I’m just following other accounts and seeing how they use theirs which is the main reason why I’m mentioning it. If you have an Instagram, ( or Goodreads or Twitter), please leave a link to them in the comments.

Now to books! \o/

I’m currently breaking my own bookish rule, and that rule is reading more than one book at once.

I’m reading The Sage, the Swordsman and the Scholars by Pierre Dimaculangan, (I have to copy and paste this every time. So long. :’D), and Rosemary and rue by Seanan McGuire.

Usually, I don’t do this. I am solidly a one book at a time person, but I’m reading The Sage book on the computer and I missed having a book while I was out and about. It is not a habit I’m going to get into though.

I’ll be reviewing The Sage, the Swordsman and the Scholars by Pierre Dimaculangan on Wednesday. It’s a historical fantasy set in China so if that’s something that interests you then be sure to watch out for that on Wednesday.

Some other books I hope to read this week:

 

I’ve also got a few books coming through the post. I swear if they don’t come tomorrow I’m going to open the front door and make my little dog’s dreams come true.

As for films!

This week, I plan on watching, The finest hours, The forest, London has fallen and Triple 9 so look out for reviews on them!

As for the mysterious piece of news that delayed this post. If you follow me on twitter, you may have at least an inkling as to what I’ve been up to.

plotting

Writing

sprint
I’ll be doing these occasionally if anyone likes doing sprints feel free to join in.

 

For a lot of book lovers, (not all), reading and writing go hand in hand. I’m one of those kind of bookworms. I have dreams of writing my own book(s).

Recently, I came across the Author Chris Fox. He’s currently doing a 21 day writing challenge and is vlogging his progress. I really recommend watching the videos. They’re brilliant. Here’s the link to the introduction. He’s currently on day 6.

Now, if you join up to the mailing list, you’ll get the template of how he outlined the novel he’s writing for the challenge. I used the same 3 act structure for plotting my own idea.

I also bought his book, 5,000 Words Per Hour: Write Faster, Write Smarter: Write Faster, Write Smarter by Chris Fox. It is fantastic and the method of writing described in it is perfect for me. I also went and downloaded his app to go with it. (The basic version is free.)

The reason I delayed this post was because I wanted to put the method into practice and see how it went. It’s only the first day, but it’s looking promising. Today, I wrote just over 3,500 words which, for me, is mindblowing. Regardless of the fact that I also haven’t wrote in a long while.

To put things into a little perspective, you know those stories how people who have wrote twenty odd thousand words and then abandoned their novel? I have NEVER EVEN got that far. I’ve always fallen at the very first hurdle.

I’m still learning to write. I’m aware that my writing is not very good and yes, I should suck it up and keep writing or else I’ll never get better, but writing is a very isolating hobby and you’re always your harshest critic. Still, I can keep whinging or be a little more disciplined.

I feel as if I’ve finally found a good method of planning and writing for me. So, I’m excited to carry on. I’m probably going to have a few more stumbles and scream into a pillow once or twice, (or a dozen), times, but I’m going to give it a good try.

Wow, things got deep. Ummm, why did the chicken cross the- No, wait forget that because one of you trolls will ask me why and I DON’T KNOW!

Hope everyone had a great weekend. What books have you read? What films have you watched? What words have written? Tell me everything! \o/

Twitter / Goodreads / Bloglovin / Instagram

19 thoughts on “Weekly update

  1. sublimereads 28/02/2016 / 9:25 pm

    Red Rising (and the rest of the books in that series) are great! I hope you’ll enjoy them! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rakioddbooks 29/02/2016 / 12:40 am

    When I was little, like in elementary school, I really wanted to be a writer, but as I grew older I realized that I hated writing. Like, the act of writing, i hated it. Sure, NOW, I have a computer, but now I think I would hate the act of typing. When I still wanted to be a writer I wondered if it would be possible to record my story and have someone else write it. Hmm… I’m not sure where I was going with this, nvm.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 29/02/2016 / 7:35 am

      It’s good that you know what you don’t like though. Saves a lot of frustration. Have you considered dictating it, if it’s typing that you don’t like, but then you said you don’t like writing either, hmm.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Holly.Evans 29/02/2016 / 1:58 am

    That’s great news about the writing! I really hope it goes well for you, keep us updated 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 29/02/2016 / 7:36 am

      Will do! Mostly on twitter, but if it keeps going well then I may start a writing blog which is something I’ve mulled over before.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. MyBookJacket 29/02/2016 / 9:18 am

    I’m waiting for your first Instagram post after all the research. You mentioned the 5000 word book in Twitter didn’t you? I ought to try and grab it. I’ll check on the links when I get back home.
    What’s this plot btw I’m very curious. Would you be publishing the story here?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Rachel 29/02/2016 / 11:07 am

    I’ve been hearing of this challenge a lot lately. It sounds like something fun to try, though I think I’m going to stick with NaNoWriMo for now. Good luck!

    Like

  6. Nthato Morakabi 04/03/2016 / 11:47 am

    Busy busy busy. You got a packed month ahead and all of it looks really fun and engaging. If I had the time, I would do them all too, read multiple books and do writing challenges and watch videos and download apps and social media and and and and… you get my point!

    Good luck and I’ll be trying to keep up with you on all of those 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

