The hat full of sky by Terry Pratchett book review

Note: All my reviews are spoiler free!

833449.jpg

A real witch never casually steps out of her body, leaving it empty. Eleven-year-old Tiffany does. And there’s something just waiting for a handy body to take over. Something ancient and horrible, which can’t die . . .

I’m not sure what it is about the Tiffany Aching series in particular, but I connect with these books so strongly, stronger than any of the other Discworld books.

This is the second in the Tiffany Aching series, (but not in the Discworld series), and both this one and the first have had me in tears. (You can find the review of the first at the bottom.)

I think it’s mainly Tiffany, the main character, herself that has me reacting so strongly. The relationship with her Granny Achings and her connection to the chalk. It’s safe to say it has me bawling.

This is a brilliantly written and wonderfully different kind of fantasy story. A fantasy story that has real life lessons weaved so well into them. It feels like real life in a fantasy kind of way. Maybe that’s why it has me wailing like a banshee?

I’ve found, while there are light-hearted, humourous moments, the Tiffany Aching series is a lot more serious with a hint of sadness to them than the Discworld series as a whole. Ironic considering these are aimed at younger readers. Ironic, but brilliant.

The plot isn’t as strong as the first in the Tiffany series, but the character are so real and Tiffany herself is so wonderful that it’s so easy to slip into the world like a comfy pair of slippers and go along for the ride.

I highly recommend this book. For younger and older readers. It doesn’t dumb down for children. It treats them as the clever masterminds they are. I wish I’d have read these books as a young girl. They’re the kind to have an impact on someone.

To sum up, Brilliantly written, Amazing characters, Plot not as strong as previous

Was it worth the read? Yes

Would I re-read? Yes

Would I read this Author again? Yes

Stars: 5/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

The wee free men book review

11 thoughts on “The hat full of sky by Terry Pratchett book review

  1. sjhigbee 27/02/2016 / 1:41 pm

    Oh I heartily agree! They are absolutely lovely, aren’t they? I’ve read the first 2 to my young granddaughter and am waiting for her to get just a little older before I read the next one. I have always loved the Discworld stories featuring the witches and this little offshoot is a gem.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 27/02/2016 / 3:58 pm

      I’m hoping to get my niece’s to read them and my nephews too. Although, I’ll have to read it to them most likely. #worthit.

      Liked by 1 person

      • sjhigbee 27/02/2016 / 4:02 pm

        It’s one of my favourite grannying jobs – reading to the children:)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 27/02/2016 / 4:50 pm

        My siblings do not read so the pleasure falls to me. I’ll be making sure they have good taste! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • sjhigbee 27/02/2016 / 6:32 pm

        Me too! There is PLENTY of fantasy and sci fi in what I read to them:)).

        Liked by 1 person

  2. oddauthoramandamccoy.com 29/02/2016 / 1:54 am

    I’ve seen this series at the library many times, but i never picked it up because i didn’t know anything about it. Thank you for the review, it was very helpful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 29/02/2016 / 7:36 am

      *Rubs hands together gleefully because she may created another Pratchett fan*

      It’s great and so is the rest of discworld. The Wee free men is the first so remember to read that one first if you’re considering it.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Nthato Morakabi 04/03/2016 / 9:31 am

    I’m in love with Terry Pratchet’s writing. It’s on my list just for that reason alone, so seeing this review has added a couple more reasons haha

    Like

Leave a Reply

