Grimsby film review

The_Brothers_Grimsby_poster

UK release date: 24/2/16

Runtime: 83 minutes

Directed by: Louis Leterrier

Starring: Sacha Baron Cohen, Mark Strong, Rebel Wilson, Penélope Cruz, Isla Fisher, Gabourey Sidibe

I’m still getting over this experience. I wasn’t expecting the kind of humour this was and that was the gross kind. The kind that makes me close my eyes and feel like I’m going to heave. I think they took it way, way too far with some of the gags.
Even so, there must be people who find this funny. I certainly heard some laughter. (I’m convince this was awkward laughter because ugh.)

This is not my kind of film. I did not like it at all and that’s purely because of the kind of comedy it is. If that kind of humour is your thing then go for it.

The action is pretty good, but there isn’t much of those scenes. It really is focused on humour. The pacing is good and the film is the right length.

I liked all the Actors and they did great with their exaggerated English roles. Although, some might feel offended by this film, considering the current state of the system.I think it would have been good if the entire film was set in Grimsby rather than moving to other locations. It could have fully capitalized on the English humour gag.

But if you don’t like gross humour then do not watch this. If I’d been at home then I’d have turned this film off immediately.

To sum up, Gross, and I mean gross, humour, Well paced, Good acting

Was it worth the watch? No

Would I re-watch? Never!!

Stars: 2/6

Twitter / Goodreads / Bloglovin

12 thoughts on “Grimsby film review

  1. emmakwall 25/02/2016 / 12:31 pm

    I feared as much!! Haha, great review Jen 🙂

    I love Mark Strong and Baron Cohen but watching the trailer for this I didn’t think it woudl be a very good film. I will watch it, but I know it’ll be a ‘watch once’ film only.

    What did you think of Borat? And Bruno?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 25/02/2016 / 12:35 pm

      Borat wasn’t as bad as this put it that way. I’m looking forward to seeing what you think of certain scenes. :’D

      Liked by 1 person

      • emmakwall 25/02/2016 / 12:45 pm

        See I really liked Borat. I thought that was really funny. Bruno I found very shocking. But I don’t really like any of his other movies if I’m honest. I think Grimsby will be on the ‘other movies’ list!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 25/02/2016 / 12:54 pm

        I didn’t mind Borat. At least it didn’t make me feel ill. :’D That’s my issue with this film. The way the comedy was done.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. MyBookJacket 25/02/2016 / 2:56 pm

    I don’t think this has released here but I’d miss it even if it did. I love decent humour where everything is subtle and it takes ateast a little bit of intelligence to figure out why it is funny. Sorry you had to go through this. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Zoë 26/02/2016 / 7:01 am

    Great review! There is absolutely no way that I am watching this, and it seems there is nothing to be missed.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

