Zoolander 2 film review

images (6)UK release date: 12/2/16

Runtime: 102 minutes

Directed by: Ben Stiller

Starring: Ben Stiller, Owen Wilson, Will Ferrell, Penélope Cruz, Kristen Wiig, Fred Armisen

*Takes a deep breath*

This film is, wait for it, ridiculous. I mean, obviously it was going to be silly, it’s Zoolander. But I’m not talking the funny kind of ridiculous. I just mean pretty dull. My face probably looked like Derek’s and Hansel’s throughout the film; confused and vacant.

You know how these kind of films take a plot of a film and turn it into something that isn’t serious and laughs at itself? Yeah, well, that’s really cliche. There’s nothing new or impressive about this film.

The plot, well, what plot? I’m wondering if I’m being too harsh. It’s supposed to be a funny, not serious film, but, then, I think, the point is to enjoy a film and I didn’t.

All of the celebrities then were constantly named was obviously supposed to be hilarious and, if this had been a better film then it might’ve been. But it was too chaotic and mashed together. The jokes weren’t funny and some I saw coming from a mile away.

I like Ben Stiller and I like Owen Wilson and I like Will Ferrell, but they were wasted in this film. They acted well, but even they couldn’t save this.

I thought it was going to be shocking and wild and crazy, but it was none of those things. It’s like they played the safe side of shocking and had me rolling my eyes a lot.

The only part I liked was a character reveal near the end. I’ll admit it, it got a chuckle from me.

There was nothing rememberable about it and I struggled to pay attention for sheer boredom. A really disappointing follow up to a a pretty original film.

To sum up, Stale, No plot, Not funny

Was it worth the watch? No

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 2/6

Twitter / Goodreads / Bloglovin

9 thoughts on “Zoolander 2 film review

  1. MyBookJacket 24/02/2016 / 2:17 am

    Oh wow. From the trailer I expected it to be over the top and more ridiculous that it’s predecessor but boring?! That was unexpected. Not a fan of zoo lander anyway (although I wish I knew a hair stylist who was as good!)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Zoë 24/02/2016 / 6:24 am

    I think I am in the extreme minority for having had absolutely no interest to see this at all. I suppose I will watch them both back to back someday, but it seems to be quite the crap experience. Great review Jen! Looks like I haven’t missed anything.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nthato Morakabi 24/02/2016 / 9:16 am

    Hmm… looks like you’ve hit a string of disappointing sequels huh? That’s really disappointing though, the trailer looked really funny. I’m still going to watch it because Zoolander but, now I know not to get my expectations too high.

    Once again a great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

