Battle royale 2: Requiem film review

BR2_DVDCover_TartanAsiaExtremeUK release date: 23/8/04

Runtime: 152 minutes

Directed by: Kenta Fukasaku, Kinji Fukasaku

Starring: Tatsuya Fujiwara, Ai Maeda, Shugo Oshinari

This is the sequel to Battle royale, (Which is based on a book. You can find reviews of those at the bottom). It’s a Japanese film with subtitles.

Now, I liked the first Battle royale, (loved the book!), but this one? it’s ridiculous and I don’t mean the ha ha kind.

It’s pretty much a shambles from start to finish. I think they made this off the back of the popularity of the first one.

There’s no plot and what plot they attempted to have withered away in a barrage shooting scenes. I think at least 50% of this film is shooting. Which is drowned at with the worst music. My poor, poor ears!

And the characters are SO dramatic! I’m going to use the word again. RIDICULOUS!! Especially the teach. (What was up with his eyes?!)

It is nothing like the first film even though it tries to make the barest attempts at being so. Personally, it’s an insult to the book.

The blathered on about winners and losers, evidently to shove a message down your throat. (No idea what because I’m pretty dense.) If you’re going to do that at least wrap it in a good film.

There are so many better ways they could have tackled this sequel. Major disappointment.

To sum up, Chaotic, RIDICULOUS, No plot

Was it worth the watch? No

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 2/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

Battle royale book review

Battle royale film review

9 thoughts on “Battle royale 2: Requiem film review

    • Combustible reviews 23/02/2016 / 9:43 am

      I know. I was so disappointed. I sort of liked some of the characters, but the plot and the way it was handled was RIDICULOUS.

      Liked by 1 person

      • MyBookJacket 23/02/2016 / 9:45 am

        Well atleast we have book 1 and movie 1 to keep us happy. I wish they’d make a full length anime about this. I wonder if it already exists. Let me check

        Liked by 1 person

      • MyBookJacket 23/02/2016 / 10:15 am

        I’ll check with a friend who know everything about anime. Usually when there’s a manga there’s an anime. Let’s see.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Nthato Morakabi 24/02/2016 / 7:41 am

        I don’t think there’s an anime for it only the manga. I too am now sad it’s such a let down but I’m definitely keen on getting the first one.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 24/02/2016 / 9:08 am

        I’d really recommend the book too. It’s absolutely brilliant. And the first movie is good.

        Yeah, I agree there’s only a manga. I may pick it up one day. I’ve got everything else BR. May as well complete the set. :’D

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

