Weekly update

So, welcome to this week’s weekly update! \o/

For those who have been following me for awhile, you’ll know that I adjusted the blog schedule. I hope you like. I do, it’s working great for me!

This week’s reviews have been sorely lacking on the new releases from the cinema. They’ve all been at awkward times for me this week. It’s probably because of half term for the small humans so the times have been prioritized for them.

But! This week I’m planning on catching all the films, I haven’t yet seen, Zoolander 2, The finest hours, Pride and Prejudice and zombies, Spotlight, Triple 9…whatever else.

Also, Grimsby will be coming out this week. I think I’ll be sat there watching in horrified amusement.

I did manage to see Deadpool and Dad’s army, (both of which I reviewed. Spoiler free as all my reviews are.)

AS FOR BOOKS! \o/

This week I read, (and reviewed), The bees by Laline Paull and The infinite sea by Rick Yancey. Both are dystopian.

I’ve been reading a lot sci fi, dystopian and apocalypse type books and I feel the desire for other genres, mainly fantasy, so you’re going to see some fantasy book reviews, at the very least, for this week.

I’ve already read The darkest part of the forest by Holly Black. It’s a dark contemporary fantasy. I’ll be posting a review that on Wednesday.

Luckily, I’ve been recommended a ton of urban fantasy, (a fantasy genre that I haven’t really explored), by Holly Evans @ Chaosfoxwriting. She has a fantastic writing blog that I really recommend checking out. You can also see the post of her urban fantasy recommendations here.

I’ve already ordered one of the books Holly recommended me which is Rosemary and Rue by Seanan McGuire.

Some other books that should be on their way are Red rising by Pierce Brown because I’ve been ITCHING to read this series. Along with Northern lights by Philip Pullman.

I haven’t decided which book will be Saturday’s review. Ā I’m torn between Reckoning by Kerry Wilkinson. A book that I bought in a shop on a whim that has an interesting blurb.

Or Terry Pratchett. Because STP is like snuggling down into a cozy blanket. I want to the Tiffany Aching series so I can finally read his last book. *Sobs* But I also want to read the Discworld series in order. Decisions, decisions.

What films have you been watching this week? And what books have you been reading? Tell me all about them in the comments! \o/

Twitter / Goodreads / Bloglovin

17 thoughts on “Weekly update

  1. theorangutanlibrarian 21/02/2016 / 4:29 pm

    Those are all excellent books to read- I adore Terry Pratchett and the Northern Lights. I also really wanna read Red Rising

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 21/02/2016 / 4:37 pm

      I’ve never read the Phillip Pullman series, but I really want to. They sound fantastic. I can’t wait for them to get here. Literally…can’t…wait…

      I guessed you were a TP fan from your profile piccie. Feel free to squeal about them with me at any time. (Have I added you on goodreads? I know I have twitter.)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Holly.Evans 21/02/2016 / 6:52 pm

    I loved the Nothern Lights trilogy by Pullman! I haven’t read or watched much this week, I’ve been fighting my writing šŸ˜¦ I’m on the fourth book in October Dayes though and looking forward to diving back into the Final Formula series šŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 21/02/2016 / 6:56 pm

      Good luck in winning your battle against writing! \o/ You are a worth opponent.

      I feel like I’m going to love the Philip Pullman trilogy.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Holly.Evans 21/02/2016 / 7:16 pm

        The ideas and execution are wonderful! I do hope you love it.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Kirstie Ellen 21/02/2016 / 11:09 pm

    Ooh I’m so keen to read The Darkest Part of the Forest – it seems to be one of those books that I’m eager to read but never manage to pick up! And there are so many good movies out at the moment, I’m really excited to see Brooklyn and Spotlight!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 21/02/2016 / 11:15 pm

      Spoiler alert: I really enjoyed it so I would recommend reading it.

      Yes, I neeed to see Spotlight. I’ve been aiming to see it for the last two weeks, but somehow things have got in the way. D:<

      There's loads of stuff coming out at the cine soon too so I need to watch them all or it'll be too late. D':

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Rachel 22/02/2016 / 11:05 am

    I have to start broadening my horizons when it comes to reading books, lol. But I have so many books I have that haven’t read yet that I’m try to dwindle down that list.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 22/02/2016 / 11:11 am

      I’m doing the opposite. I keep adding books to my list! D:

      (Which is all yours and everyone else’s fault for their great recommendations.)

      Like

      • Rachel 22/02/2016 / 11:24 am

        You’re welcome. šŸ˜‰
        I always add books to my list, too. It’s awful, lol. But I’ve been trying not to buy any new books lately. Which hasn’t really been working, but oh well…

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Paul @ The Galaxial Word 23/02/2016 / 3:07 am

    So many movies and I haven’t seen even ONE of them XD HOW DO YOU GET THE MONEY TO GO SEE ALL THE MOVIES?? Oh wait but I guess it’s like asking how do you get the money to buy heaps of books. YOU JUST DO. Kill if you have to šŸ˜‰ XD XD XD

    Looking forward to a review of Zoolander 2! šŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 23/02/2016 / 8:54 am

      I have an unlimited card. I basically pay a monthly price to see as many films as I like.

      I worked out that the price of the card is the same as going to two movies a month. #worthit.

      Also, I don’t spend money on anything else and budget really well. Luckily, I have simple tastes.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 23/02/2016 / 8:59 am

        Yes, definitely. You have to decide if you’re going to go or you’ve just wasting money.

        Now all the DVD releases of last years movies are coming out. It’s SO strange that I’ve already watched them. I’m like, Ooooh, that film is EXCELLENT!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

