Man of steel film review

download (8)UK release date: 14/6/13

Runtime: 143 minutes

Directed by: Zack Snyder

Starring: Henry Cavill, Amy Adams, Michael Shannon, Kevin Costner, Diane Lane, Laurence Fishburne, Antje Traue, Ayelet Zurer, Christopher Meloni, Russell Crowe

Note: This film is available on Now TV at the time of this review!

Considering the amount of modern superhero films I’ve seen, and loved, recently, I was expecting this film to be another excellent example of this.

It was not.

Besides the last forty odd minutes which were pretty fantastic, I was pretty bored and rolled my eyes on occasion at its cheesy, dramatics. The fact that it’s well made and really good looking makes this film even more disappointing.

There’s only one thing for it. We need a LIST!!

1.The origin/backstory took so long! And was pretty boring and pointless. Could we get to the action please?!

2. Seriously, they dawdle round, giving us pointless info that we already know before the action finally kicks ABOUT AN HOUR LATER!

3. The constant, over dramatic music drove me insane. It NEVER stopped!

4. They drew out scenes too much with way too many long dramatic poses.

5. The sequences of events is given in a weird disjointed way and ruins what it was trying to do, which was give us backstory and characterization.

6. I think I would have liked Henry Cavill’s portrayal of Clark Kent if this had been a better film. At times, his performance blows me away, but the movie itself lets his portrayal down.

7. I was severely disappointed by Lois Lane. Amy Adams is OK. But, WHERE IS THE SASSY BADASS LOIS LANE I WAS EXPECTING?!!

8. There are moments that I seem a glimmer of the amazing film this could have been. Moments that leave me breathless, but it’s bogged down by silly, illogical, too dramatic, stupidness.

So, yeah, there’s my midly rant-like list. Hopefully, the sequel is better. I feel like it might? But we’ll see.

To sum up, Annoying music, so long, weird plot sequence, no characterization

Was it worth the watch? No

Would I re-watch? No

Stars: 3/6

RELATED REVIEWS –

The Amazing spiderman film review

X-men: First class film review

Deadpool film review

14 thoughts on “Man of steel film review

  1. MyBookJacket 20/02/2016 / 4:31 am

    If Lois Lane isn’t badass I’m not watching this. Even if you had given it a 4 star review. Pfft. Tragic.

    Liked by 1 person

      • MyBookJacket 20/02/2016 / 8:18 am

        That’s sad. I always had a crush on superman. More so on the journalist act.

        Like

      • Combustible reviews 20/02/2016 / 8:46 am

        Ahh, I wouldn’t bother then. Maybe the 2nd will be more your style. I’m hoping it’ll be good.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. garethrhodes 20/02/2016 / 9:51 am

    Like you, I found a contrasting mix of likes and dislikes here. Mostly, it made me pine for the love and attention with which Richard Donner’s definitive version was made.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. theorangutanlibrarian 21/02/2016 / 2:59 pm

    Oh my goodness I agree so much!! Firstly, why did it have to have a stupid “new” backstory- what because superman wasn’t good enough before there was a secret codex inside him- it was such a nonsense storyline- I don’t know why they put it in. And you’re right- it took ages for there to be any action. And the music was dreadful- that’ll teach them not to use the old John Williams soundtrack. I do agree that Henry Caville did a good job- it’s such a shame he was completely let down by everything else. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 21/02/2016 / 3:05 pm

      Ah, thanks. Most people were completely disagreed with me. It’s good to have someone to moan/rant with.

      I know, the secret codex in him? It wasn’t even important in the film! I’m watching the 2nd one soon, hopefully that’s better!

      Liked by 1 person

      • theorangutanlibrarian 21/02/2016 / 4:14 pm

        You’re welcome! And me too! haha isn’t it just?
        It’s sooo weird- it’s such a bizarre take on superman. It’s like they were going for the idea that not only is he special on earth cos he’s a kryptonian, but he’s also the most special of all the special people, because he has the codex. It was so dumb because it was like it was trying to convince us that he was the most special of all the special snowflakes :/

        Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews 21/02/2016 / 4:35 pm

        I know. It was completely not what I was expecting.

        Half of me thinks it because origin films are hard to do, but I’ve seen some brilliant origins films so I can’t believe that.

        Liked by 1 person

      • theorangutanlibrarian 21/02/2016 / 7:34 pm

        Yeah- completely agree- I think they were trying too hard to make the origin story more complex than it needed to be. The issue is that we already know the stories really well, so when they remake it they want to do something different, but they fail because they overcomplicate the ideas

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Zoë 23/02/2016 / 7:41 am

    The problem with this movie is it had freaking AMAZING trailers, and ultimately did not deliver. Cavill is the perfect Clark Kent, Michael Shannon was a really good Zod, and everything looked good, but it was way too long. Lois Lane irritated the hell out of me (probably not helped by the fact that I dislike Amy Adams). This movie had potential. So much of it. And in the end it was just okay. I liked it a lot more when I originally saw it as opposed to how I felt about it after watching it later on.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Combustible reviews 23/02/2016 / 8:57 am

      Thank you! Someone else disappointed in Lois Lane. I’ve noticed I get easily irritated with the female characters. Probably because I am one! :’D

      Completely agree with everything else you’ve mentioned.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Zoë 23/02/2016 / 7:41 am

    And sending before I am done :/ Great review, we definitely are in agreement on many points!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

